Treachery. Basic Weakness


Multiplayer only.

Revelation - Put Narcolepsy into play in your threat area.

You cannot take actions, trigger abilities, or play cards.

: "Wake up!" Discard Narcolepsy.

Forced - After you take damage or horror: Discard Narcolepsy.

Nicholas Stohlman
The Dream-Eaters #37.

So this card doesn't seem to work as it was probably intended!

The multiplayer-only nature of the card makes it seem like it is intended for other investigators to come and wake you up when you fall asleep. In that case, the should have the added text, "Other investigators at your location can take this action." You can't wake yourself up after all (since Narcolepsy prevents you from taking actions), and as written that action cannot be used at all.

The_Wall · 271
Other investigators can interact with cards on your threat area. It doesn't need to be specified. In fact there are several other weaknesses that other investigators can resolve for you, such as hospital debts — Weirdmarine · 3
Weirdmarine is right here. The card works as intended — Difrakt · 1227
As a follow-up, i feel like this card was printed specifically to draw attention to the fact that other investigators can interact with cards in your threat area, as it's not well known. — SGPrometheus · 723
Entombed is one of my favourites for demonstrating this interaction. Love the image of multiple investigators working together to get you out of the rubble — NarkasisBroon · 10
So, in case anyone else ends up going down the same damn rules rabbit trail as me, the reason you can use the action on this card is because a triggered action (like the activate action arrow), can be used by any investigator if it is (as ONE of the options, at least) "A scenario card that is in play and at the same location as the investigator. This includes the location itself, encounter cards placed at that location, and all encounter cards in the threat area of any investigator at that location." Now, weaknesses are a special type of card (aren't they always <__< ) in that , if they are an "encounter cardtype" (enemy/treachery), they are player cards when in the deck and encounter cards "while they are being resolved, and once they have entered play.", which includes the threat area. Since in your hand is "out-of-play", I assume that if a card had a revelation effect that ended with it sticking itself in your hand, other investigators would not be able to take that action; however, I don't know if this would be considered "still resolving" in this case. But whatever, as far as this card is concerned, there's the reasoning. — TheDoc37 · 466
Why is does this obviously wrong "review" still getting likes? It should be removed, it's horribly misleading — ratnip · 63

The wording of the card suggests that the victim CAN commit skills while asleep, which is... interesting. Fits the cycle thematically, too... you're asleep but still helping your friends from the Dreamworld.

Amante · 6
It’s interesting and also enables you to pass a catastrophic test during the Mythos phase before it could be removed. — Death by Chocolate · 1326
You can't play action while in Narcolepsy. Other players had to wake you up. — Jashugan · 10
You can still commit a card to assist another investigator's skill test at your location, and encounters often force you to do a skill test to which you commit cards. — Signum · 14

what is the consequence of drawing this mid-turn? do I just lose all remaining actions even if another player wakes me up on their turn? This got drawn in the middle of using Blood Rite so do i get to finish that action? what is the order of operations in that event?

Roakana · 1
You have already taken the action and played the card to activate Blood Rite. Nothing about Narcolepsy prevents you from finishing the resolution of Blood Rite. You don't technically 'lose all remaining actions', but you can't use them anymore so you're pretty much stuck just ending your turn and wasting them. Technically if your friend has Swift Reflexes, they could take an action to wake you up in the middle of your turn and then you could keep going. — Death by Chocolate · 1326
Brutal weakness for Amanda Sharpe. You're praying to draw this in upkeep or you stand a pretty good chance of losing a whole turn with her Forced. — TheTrueEpicureInTheTerrible · 1
@ZeeZeeZilla I'm not so sure. Her Forced states "At the start of the investigation phase", not "At the start of your turn", so even if you do draw it because of it, it still happens before any investigator acts, so you can get rid of it in the exact same way as you would if you drew it during upkeep: you let your buddies go first. If you're all split up or they're otherwise occupied and no-one can come wake you up it would've happened wheter you drew it at the end of the round or at the start of the next, no? — tinybreeder · 1