You must discard as asset from play. Even though you control cards in your hand, deck, and discard pile, there's also this rule:
"Card abilities only interact with other cards that are in play, unless the ability specifically references an interaction with cards in an out-of-play area."
Note that when assets run out of charges, they don't automatically get discarded unless they specifically say so.
- You cannot choose and discard The Necronomicon or Baron Samedi because they 'cannot leave play'.
Revelation - Test (4). If you fail, choose and discard 1 asset you control (if you cannot, take 2 damage instead).
There's... not a review for Crypt Chill yet? Nani the f?
I suppose most experienced players understand how to play around this card, but I guess I want to explain how devastating it can be for newer players!
If you see the Chilling Cold encounter set get added to the scenario - never leave assets you want to live out on their own. My own personal horror story: I was playing "Skids" O'Toole the first time I played the Core Set. I spent my first whole first turn getting Leo De Luca onto the board and moving around. My first encounter card rip? Crypt Chill. Not in the same location as fellow investigators, 2 , and no icons to help means I lost my action economy that I paid 2 actions, 6 resources and a card for was gone right away and I never got any significant use out of it.
How to play around it is an easy two-step process! (besides having high starting )
1) Cover your important asset's 'assets' by having a sacrificial lamb. Losing Flashlight or a Physical Training lookalike isn't too backbreaking compared to dropping your important Allies like Leo De Luca or Peter Sylvestre.
2) Include icons in your decks! Even a Guts with a 2 character brings you to even - even just a single icon commitment from an allied investigator brings you over the threshold to pass. There's so many campaigns where having some extra will save your from encounter deck woes.
Anyway, hopefully this is helpful and not just me rambling. Don't lose your good stuff to this card!!