Cost: 0. XP: 3.

Exceptional. Fast. Play only during your turn.

You may take an additional 3 actions this turn.

John Pacer
Where Doom Awaits #266.

Latest Taboo

This card gains: “Max once per round.”

Ace in the Hole
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • Ace in the Hole allows you to take 3 additional actions during the turn on which it is played. It doesn't interrupt what you are doing to perform those 3 actions. If you play it during a [player window] during a skill test, it just means that you have more actions to take during that turn. It doesn't mean that all 3 of those actions take place during that skill test.
Last updated

It's good.

It's very hard to not justify +3 actions for 0 cost. The only thing I can really mention is that it's better to get this upgrade at the end of a core build rather then to start with, you really want some good cards in play to capitalize on so get those upgrades before Ace in the Hole.

For example:

I.E, dont spend your first 6 Xp on this thing, spend your first 10-14 XP on key mechanics, then cash in on that with Ace in the Hole.

Tsuruki23 · 2150
I’ve actually cooled on this card a lot. If Im playing multiplayer Id much rather save up 2 more XP and buy Gold Pocket Watch. Otherwise 6 XP should just be spent on several other cards to make your deck more consistently powerful. — StyxTBeuford · 12621
I agree that the Gold Pocket Watch is realy awesome in Multiplayer. I just want to mention, that Finn Edwards cant take the watch, but can get a lot done with Ace in the Hole. — Shinkatsukyu · 8
Ace in the Hole also combos with Pay Day, while I don't think Gold Pocket Watch would. — Zinjanthropus · 192
Also, Ace in the Hole doesn't seem to get removed from the game after using it, so you can theoretically cycle your deck and see it multiple times (though I don't know if that's likely with any Rogues other than Winifred). — Zinjanthropus · 192
Oh wait, All In is a thing, nvm, Rogues can totally cycle their decks. — Zinjanthropus · 192
In case anybody is wondering, this card is bonkers powerful in Winifred. You can probably see it like 3-4 times in a scenario, and it helps you make use of excess cards that would otherwise be discarded if you used All In earlier. — Zinjanthropus · 192

Note that the taboo'd version now adds "Max once per round." to this card if you're playing with those.

200 characters 200 characters 200 characters 200 characters 200 characters 200 characters 200 characters

dubcity566 · 61
Oh, boo. If you luck into this as Sefina plus have multiple Painted World in hand, you deserve the dumb broken combo. — Nerindil · 3
I don't think it was because of Sefina since PW says "non exceptional". — StyxTBeuford · 12621
Apparently there is some sort of Jenny infinite round combo — Tsuruki23 · 2150
Is it possible de play "double, double" with the taboo's version ? — Thesshad · 7
I'm guessing that "Max once per round" precludes Double Doubling it, which is honestly kind of a shame. I want to have a 9+ action turn that ends in Pay Day! — Zinjanthropus · 192
You can only have one Exceptional card in your deck, so I'm not sure how you could activate Double Double with Ace in the Hole to begin with. — Omnicrom · 3
You are only allowed one copy of each Exceptional card. You can still have 2 different Exceptional cards. — NarkasisBroon · 1