Clasp of Black Onyx
A Gift Unlooked For

Asset. Weakness

Item. Relic.

Cost: 1.

While Clasp of Black Onyx is in your hand, increase the cost of each other card in your hand by 1.

It was neither Arabic nor Chinese, nor as I found afterwards did it belong to any human script. - Robert W. Chambers, "The Yellow Sign," The King in Yellow
John Pacer
Echoes of the Past #142. Echoes of the Past #23.
Clasp of Black Onyx
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • Q: Can you discard Clasp of Black Onyx to Corrosion or Realm of Madness if you can't reach the discard threshold with other cards in hand? A: No, in this case, Corrosion would not discard the Clasp, because weaknesses cannot be discarded from your hand except when it is at random. Even if there are no other options for Corrosion to discard, the Clasp would remain in your hand.
Last updated

Pretty sure you can stick this in a Backpack & forget about it!

Also convenient : Ever Vigilant

Haven't gotten far in Carcosa yet, but seems pretty mild overall. Basically just -1 action if you have nothing else to help.

Backpack specifies ‘non-weakness’, so no. That said, yeah the clasp is pretty minor weakness as I believe it is intended to be. — Death by Chocolate · 730
Ahh, you're right. Thanks! — tercicatrix · 5
you could grab with Elli Horowitz, I think — Zinjanthropus · 160