Duke
Loyal Hound

Neutral
Asset

Ally. Creature.

Cost: 2.
Health: 2. Sanity: 3.

"Ashcan" Pete deck only.

Exhaust Duke: Fight. You attack with a base skill of 4. This attack deals +1 damage.

Exhaust Duke: Investigate. You investigate with a base skill of 4. You may move to a connecting location immediately before investigating with this effect.

Owen William Weber
The Dunwich Legacy #14.
Duke
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • When using Duke's Investigate ability, you pay costs first (exhaust Duke), then suffer attacks of opportunity in your current location (if any), then move to a connecting location, and investigate it. Enemies in the new location will not perform attacks of opportunity.

  • If you have Frozen in Fear in your threat area, using Duke's first ability would require spending an additional action, as it is a bold action matching Frozen in Fear's restriction. Using Duke's second ability is an action that does not match Frozen in Fear's restriction, so it does not require spending an additional action.
Last updated
Reviews

Duke is a good doggie. An issue I have found is that investigator specific cards only being a one per deck means that the likely hood of drawing even after a hard mulligan is low. Duke mitigates this by starting in play.

The obvious points here is that Duke shores up "Ashcan" Pete's weaknesses, books and fists. However the best part of Duke is his fetch ability, moving then investigating. This action economy is increadibly useful, especially in solo play.

Solo play is where Duke and "Ashcan" Pete thrive. As noted he starts in play so "Ashcan" Pete is ready to roll turn one as you don't have time to get set up playing solo.

Some card synergies. The full range of neutral skill cards as Duke can't carry helpful items to boost skill checks and card draw. Rabbit's Foot, Scavenging and upgraded Lucky! for dog tucker. Ritual Candles also help with increasing chances for success without additional weapons.

Get out there and play fetch!

Pilgrim · 225
When "using" Duke, his actions replace pete's base skills, but he still affected by permanent bonuses and penalties, like holy rosary? — Django · 1718
@Django: Ayup. Anything that modifies your 'base' skill effectively overwrites whatever is printed on the top of your investigator card. Bonuses penalties, and modifiers then work off of that new base number. — Darthcaboose · 85
Best part about Duke IMHO is that he starts *in play* - so Pete always starts with a free +1 damage weapon, making him very consistent in the early game. Compare to other investigators unique cards - they are 1 of (so you can't rely on even seeing them in an average game) and have to be drawn, played and payed for. Duke is awesome. Whosagoodboyyesyouare. — waferthinninja · 10
A note about Duke as an "Ally" in case anyone else is confused (as I was): Duke has the Ally keywords, but not the Ally *symbol*. Practically speaking, this means that you can have another ally in addition to Duke. — micahwedemeyer · 2