Q: Can skill icons be committed to a resource skill test as triggered by Money Talks? A: It appears that icons can be committed to any skill test, regardless of which skill is being tested, and regardless of whether or not a skill is even being tested whatsoever. From the RR, Skill Test Timing, ST2: "An appropriate skill icon is either one that matches the skill being tested, or a wild icon. The investigator performing this test gets +1 to his or her skill value during this test for each appropriate skill icon that is committed to this test." This sentence makes it clear to me that icons can still be committed to a "resource" skill test, even though "resource" is not a skill type.
Q: Money Talks is played when you initiate a skill test. If you are being required to test something due to a revelation effect, is that not considered "you initiate a skill test" so that you aren't allowed to play Money Talks? A: You are still initiating a skill test in such an event; the fact that you are being forced to do so doesn't change that. So you could still play Money Talks when that happens.
Fast. Play when you initiate a skill test.
Instead of the skill type indicated for this test (, , , or ), this is a resource skill test. Your base skill value for this test is equal to half the number of resources in your resource pool (rounded down).
Excellent for any character build that stacks resources.
Well Connected builds with several resource cards to support it, based on Preston Fairmont's and Jenny Barnes's extra resource generation can routinely hit 20+ resources. While the resource mountains are primarily collected to channel bonuses on Well Connected, Money Talks is an excellent support card to slot in this archetype. It's just an extra lever for Preston Fairmont to pull to channel his vast wealth into test success.
This is a great card to beat key tests such as scenario specific ones (Talking to Lita Chantler(/card/05005)) or against key treacheries (Ridding yourself of [Frozen in Fear](/card/01164 or not dying to Rotting Remains).
Money Talks is terrific in the right deck, TERRIBLE outside it.
I don't like this card.
Whenever I tried to play a big money rogue, I put two of these in without thought. Not anymore.
1) It is a dead draw in early game. Without your resource engine going on, this is worthless. You can't even commit it for skill icons.
2) It is mostly dead in early scenarios. Big money engines needs some xp to fire on all cylinders. Before that, you won't find yourself sitting on a lot of resources. Don't forget big money decks loves to spend resources as much as they love to amass them.
3) If you struggled through the worst, congratulations: This is now a very strong card, almost an auto success barring tentacles, against any type of test. But was it worth to carry it all along the early scenarios? Maybe pay the 1 xp tax and bring this into your deck later? You'd probably pay 2 xp for the improved version at that point. But since you upped the budget, is going even further to buy Sure Gamble better(I for one would rather have Sure Gamble)? If you are going to pay xp for these, when would you do it? After the third scenario? Sixth?
Therefore I think this card is a semi-trap. Don't get me wrong, payoff is there, but I just think this is another one of Rogue luxuries instead of a big money archetype cornerstone. A weird one that is, at 0 xp. Obviously you can choose to struggle with these early, and reap the rewards later (kinda similar to Delve Too Deep). I just want to point out that it's not all roses.
Amazing Adaptable target though.
Not very impressed with this card for Preston right now. It does not count the resources on Family Inheritance and requires taking an action to get them in his legit resource pool and I just don't want to spend the extra actions when I could use those resources on a stat pump or use skill cards instead.
EDIT: I was wrong about that, see the comments below. I leave the review still unaltered.
I wonder, if the first bullet point of the FAQs on this site is still relevant, or if it had been ruled otherwise in the mean time. It reads:
Q: Can skill icons be committed to a resource skill test as triggered by Money Talks? A: It appears that icons can be committed to any skill test, regardless of which skill is being tested, and regardless of whether or not a skill is even being tested whatsoever. From the RR, Skill Test Timing, ST2: "An appropriate skill icon is either one that matches the skill being tested, or a wild icon. The investigator performing this test gets +1 to his or her skill value during this test for each appropriate skill icon that is committed to this test."
This reason seems to make RAW sense and the RR has not been altered, however there is a paragraph in recent versions of the FAQ, added in 'Game Play', point 1.9 and quoted in the online version of the RR on ArkhamDB, which in my opinion absolutely contradicts it:
A Wild (?) skill icon on a player card may be used to match any other skill icon for the purposes of both card abilities and counting how many matching icons are committed to a skill test. When using Wild icons for the purpose of resolving a card ability, a player must state which icon the Wild is matching at the time the card is used.
Wild icons committed to a skill test are considered "matching" icons for the purposes of card abilities. (Bold emphasise mine).
How could you state the wild matching a "resource icon", as there clearly is not such a thing in the game? And if you state it to be any other icon, it ceases to be a matching icon. It sounds to me, this paragraph had been added to address the weird situation of wilds "matching" a resource test. But then, the ST2 definition probably should have been reworded as well?