Survivor
Event

Spirit.

Cost: 0. XP: 3.
Test Icons:

If you have fewer than 5 resources, gain resources until you have 5 resources.

If you have fewer than 5 cards in your hand, draw cards until you have 5 cards in your hand.

Remove Nothing Left to Lose from the game.

Aleksander Karcz
Where the Gods Dwell #284.
Nothing Left to Lose
Reviews

This card is extremely strong. It's not quite drawing thin bananas, but it is very powerful econ. You don't have to try very hard to get 3-4 cards and resources from this. I almost always buy one of these within the first two scenarios, it just makes the rest of my deck run so much more smoothly.

dubcity566 · 49
10 actions in one (at best) is pretty strong. It's got a great niche in dark horse decks too, especially if you haven't drawn dark horse yet or if you need to play out a few assets. — SGPrometheus · 268
My problem with it is that it feels like a 3XP Take Heart that removes itself from the game (a big deal in a class that recurs stuff so easily). I've not been terribly impressed with it. Maybe now it'll have a bit more use with Mariner's Compass as the investigating equivalent to Fire Axe, so you can more reliably be at low resources, but I often find my Survivors are well over 5 cards in hand even at level 0. I think for the same XP cost, it's a lot more appealing to take Drawing Thin. — StyxTBeuford · 11189
Add cornered for laughs. — MrGoldbee · 255
Or add Cornered because it is very strong. — Death by Chocolate · 509

Rules question about "draw cards until you have 5 cards in your hand". Do i resolve weaknesses that don't stay in my hand and keep drawing until i actually have 5 in hand? Or do i have to wait with resolving weaknesses until i've drawn up to 5?

Django · 2880
I believe cards are always drawn one at a time, so I think you would draw the weakness, resolve it, then continue drawing up to 5. — SGPrometheus · 268
Card are not always drawn one at a time- Patrice's investigator ability draws 5 at once. In fact, regarding NLTL, I'm 99% certain it chooses a number of cards you draw based on the difference (5 minus handsize) and you draw them simultaneously. So you would draw up to 5 (NLTL resolves) and then you resolve all weaknesses. In other words, if you get a weakness that discards after it resolves, you end up with a hand of less than 5 cards. — StyxTBeuford · 11189
On a related note. I recently began my first run through of a campaign with Patrice and the basic weakness I drew was Insomnia. The first time I drew it was as the second of the 5 cards I had to draw in that upkeep phase. The way I interpreted this was that it meant I had to discard all but one card from my hand, but since there was only one card in hand at the time it completely whiffed and I then got to continue drawing up to 5 cards. This felt a LOT like cheating, but it did also seem the most logical interpretation of how to resolve the effect. Do we have any more experienced Patrice players who can confirm whether I cheated or not ? — Sassenach · 121
You resolved it incorrectly. You draw 5 simultaneously. Then, you discard to 1 due to Insomnia. The golden rule of this game is you resolve all effects in full before resolving anything else, and Patrice's ability is included here. — StyxTBeuford · 11189
Correction: *Amnesia, not Insomnia. — StyxTBeuford · 11189
Ah yes, Amnesia. Forgot about that one... ;) This does seem like a fairer interpretation, I'll do it that way in future. Still a pretty benign weakness for Patrice of course. — Sassenach · 121
I would say that "one at a time" is implicit. Revelation effects immediately when you draw a weakness, so you would never count that card on your hand. FFG should errata this card to make it clear how to understand it. — haakenlid · 1