Q: If I have committed Neither Rain nor Snow to an attack/evade and fail against an enemy with the retaliate/alert keyword, would Neither Rain Nor Snow cancel that attack? I always assumed it did, but I had doubts re-reading the rules because Neither Rain Nor Snow cancels "all effects of the failed test", but retaliate and alert are "after applying all results for that skill test", leading me to believe it wouldn't be cancelled. I believe the same question is applicable for investigations and the Haunted keyword, as it uses similar language. A:
Neither Rain nor Snow would not prevent an enemy with Retaliate/Alert from attacking after the failed test. Neither Rain nor Snow would only cancel effects that occur during Step 7 of the Skill Test Timing (Apply skill test results), but Retaliate/Alert triggers after this timing point passes and after the skill test ends.Ruling overturned: We are now ruling that Neither Rain nor Snow CAN cancel a Retaliate/Alert (and Haunted) effects that would trigger as a result of the failed test.
Q: A recent ruling on Neither Rain nor Snow stated that keywords like Alert and Retaliate (and presumably Haunted) are not "effects of the skill test" and in fact trigger at some point after the test ends [NB this ruling has been overturned, see above]. This raises three questions. First: what is the exact timing of the resolution of Alert et al. and do other effects have priority over them? Specifically, is Live and Learn resolved before or after resolving attacks/haunted effects? Second: Is there a difference between cards that reference "effects OF a failed skill test" (NRNS) and "effects FROM a failed skill test" - Live and Learn and more importantly, Self-Sacrifice? The latter has traditionally been assumed to allow the committer to resolve effects like Alert etc. rather than the performing investigator but this ruling makes that murkier and calls into question the intended use case of that skill. Third and finally, taking the wording of Read the Signs into account are we now to understand Haunted to be a keyword that triggers in St.6 but in fact sets up a delayed effect that resolves at a later timing point? Otherwise I'm unsure how Read the Signs is supposed to ignore Haunted (which is it's traditionally understood use case.) A: 1) Neither Rain nor Snow can cancel Alert/Retaliate (and Haunted), treating all as “effects of the failed skill test.” 2) If playing Live and Learn, Alert/Retaliate would have resolved already during Step 7 of the initial test, as “effects of the failed test.” 3) Yes, Read the Signs was always intended to be able to ignore Haunted, a “keyword on your location that would trigger during this investigation.” 4) There is also no mechanical difference between “effects of the failed test” and “effects from the failed test.”
Q: What kind of “effects of the failed skill test” does Neither Rain nor Snow allow you to cancel? A: Neither Rain nor Snow may cancel effects that trigger during Steps 6 & 7 of a failed skill test. This may include keywords such as alert, retaliate, and haunted, as well as negative effects on the scenario reference card that might trigger as a result of the failed skill test. - FAQ, v.2.1, August 2023
Stella Clark deck only.
If this skill test fails, cancel all effects of the failed test.
Can't argue with getting 3 copies of a skill in your deck. The ability to cancel the effects of a failure are really just icing on the cake. In addition, it is a Survivor card, and an innate skill, so it can be recurred with either Resourceful or True Survivor.
I mean, really, what more could you want?
Listen, and understand. Stella Clark is out there, she can't be bargained with, she can't be reasoned with, she doesn't feel pity or remorse or fear, and she absolutely will not die............EVER.
If for some reason you feel like 3 copies of this aren't enough, upgrade into Grisly Totem (3) and become the immovable object.
There is a certain official scenario where, on the back of the last card in the agenda deck, it just says "all investigators take 100 horror (cannot be cancelled or ignored)" as a means to eliminate everyone and end the scenario.
Imagine that Stella and Roland are doing this scenario and that Roland (who is In the Thick of It) has an Enchanted Armor in play when this last agenda card is flipped. Roland assigns all 100 horror to Enchanted Armor and then has to "Test Willpower (100), if failed, discard Enchanted Armor and reassign the 100 horror", but Stella commits Neither Rain Nor Snow to this test. What happens? Roland should survive, right? Does scenario just continue forever, without an agenda deck?
Here are some rule notes for Neither Rain nor Snow. Notice that this is NOT offical ruling, but my interpretation of rule book. Please comment if you think something is wrong or another rule for note.
- You can resolve some fail effects (like Take Heart) an cancel the other fail effects.
- The fail effect includes "if you fail..." and "for each point you fail by...".
- You couldn't cancel the failed effects if you return NRNS by Try and Try Again or Grisly Totem.
- You can play cards or trigger effects stating with "when you (would) fail" like Lucky! or "after you fail" like "Look what I found!". In addition, you couldn't cancel the forced effects with "(when/)after you fail" like Atychiphobia.
Another investigator cannot commit NRNS by Copycat.(After FAQ 2.0, this is legal.)
- You couldn't prevent discarding Baseball Bat with or jamming Old Hunting Rifle with .
- This effect is delayed effect. If you confront multiple forced/delayed effects, you determines the order as priority of simultaneous resolution. Therefore, you could determine resolving some (good) failed effect before you resolve NRNU.
- To maintain delayed effect, NRNS should remain commited to cancel the failed effect.
- The triggering timming of TATA is preceded, so that you couldn't cancel the failed effects if you return (see next bullet for detail).
- If you resolve NRNU effect, the effect of Grisy Totem is canceled, so you couldn't return NRNU; if you resolve totem effect first, you couldn't cancel other fail effect.
- "after you fail (ST6)" is the early time point comparing "if you fail (ST7)"; see the review at Take Heart. When you resolve the effects with "after you fail", you cannot resolve the effect of NRNU.
When you commit Copycat, you temporally control the target card. Since the signature card cannot be controlled by another investigator, you cannot commit NRNS by copycat. Notice that I guess the control ruling from the offical guide in wini pack. It states that wini can draw a card when you commit copycat (and another card commited by copycat), and wini should commit 2 cards to draw a card.
- Baseball Bat or Old Hunting Rifle is not a effect from the failure, so NRNS don't cancel.
"As you come into this world, someone else is also born. You begin your life, and she begins a journey towards you. She moves slowly, but never stops. Wherever you go, whatever path you take, she will follow. Never faster, never slower. Always coming. You will run, she will walk. You will rest, she will not. One day, you will linger in the same place too long. You will sit too still or sleep too deep. And when, too late, you rise to go, you will notice a second shadow next to yours. Your post will then be delivered. Please tip your courier."
Incredible signature, incredible flavour. Love my eldritch postie.