Kymani Jones
  • Q: I have question about swarming enemies. In rules is written:"the host enemy cannot be defeated while it still has swarm cards underneath it", but can it be discarded ( for example by Kymani's ability) ? If it can be discarded do all swarm cards underneath it are discarded as well? A: Yes. Although the host enemy can’t be defeated if there are multiple enemies in the swarm, it can be discarded such as by Kymani’s ability, which would then cause the entire swarm to leave play. (Rules Forum Answer, December 2024)
Last updated
Bewitching
  • Q: I have a question about Bewitching. When I have Bewitching in play, but no cards attached to it, am I able to trigger its search ability knowing that I won't find anything? A: For Bewitching, in order to trigger its search ability, there must be a card attached to it. Even if the search ability’s cost can be paid, its effect would not be able to change the game state if a card isn’t attached. (Rules Forum Answer, December 2024)
Last updated
Father Mateo
  • Q: When parallel Father Mateo plays Guided by Faith, can he use his ability to seal one of the bless tokens that was just added and then resolve that sealed bless token to discover an additional clue? A: Yes; Parallel Father Mateo can play Guided by Faith, use his free triggered ability to seal one of the Bless tokens on himself, then use his reaction triggered ability to resolve the sealed Blessed token. This token is treated as having been “revealed” during the test, so he will discover an additional clue. (Rules Forum Answer, November 2024)

  • Q: I have question about ability of investigator parallel Mateo - "...resolve the bless token sealed on them instead. Release that token". In the article is written that this resoved bless token is released back into the bag (not to token pool). I would like to confirm, that this works in that way always, also during the tests, because I think that on the card should be written "put this token to chaos bag instead of token pool" ( because effect of bless token resolved in tests is: "Reveal another token. Instead of returning this token to the chaos bag, return it to the token pool"). A: Parallel Father Mateo’s reaction ability returns the resolved bless token to the chaos bag instead of the supply. The ability stating the token is “released” is intended to clarify that, but we acknowledge that it could have been more explicitly stated. (Rules Forum Answer, November 2024)

Last updated
Word of Woe
  • Q: I have a a couple questions about the timing and resolution of Amina Zidane's signature events Word of Weal and Word of Woe. Word of Weal states "Fast. Play when you perform a skill test on an asset with 1 or more doom on it." Is this to be interpreted as "play during a skill test on an asset with 1 or more doom on it" and as such is played during one of the two player windows before and after committing skills? Or is it to be interpreted as "when a skill test on an asset with 1 or more doom on it begins" since the word "when" indicates the moment when something would happen but before resolving its impact on the game state. Additionally for both Word of Weal and Word of Woe, when do we resolve the clause that shuffles the other into your deck if it is present in your discard pile? For Word of Woe it's not clear to me whether you shuffle Word of Weal into your deck after completing the action triggered ability in full, or in between placing the doom and resolving the action triggered ability. For Word of Weal, it's likewise not clear to me whether you shuffle Word of Woe into your deck immediately (or rather after creating the lasting/delayed effect to add your Willpower to the skill test being performed), or after completing the skill test being performed. A: Word of Weal can be played during either free player window of a skill test, so long as there is doom on the chosen asset by the time of playing. Once you’ve used its ability to add willpower to your skill value, you can shuffle Word of Woe into your deck if able; you do not wait until after you’ve resolved the test. Word of Woe can shuffle Word of Weal into your deck after you’ve fully resolved the ability on the chosen asset. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated
Amina Zidane
  • Q: I have a a couple questions about the timing and resolution of Amina Zidane's signature events Word of Weal and Word of Woe. Word of Weal states "Fast. Play when you perform a skill test on an asset with 1 or more doom on it." Is this to be interpreted as "play during a skill test on an asset with 1 or more doom on it" and as such is played during one of the two player windows before and after committing skills? Or is it to be interpreted as "when a skill test on an asset with 1 or more doom on it begins" since the word "when" indicates the moment when something would happen but before resolving its impact on the game state. Additionally for both Word of Weal and Word of Woe, when do we resolve the clause that shuffles the other into your deck if it is present in your discard pile? For Word of Woe it's not clear to me whether you shuffle Word of Weal into your deck after completing the action triggered ability in full, or in between placing the doom and resolving the action triggered ability. For Word of Weal, it's likewise not clear to me whether you shuffle Word of Woe into your deck immediately (or rather after creating the lasting/delayed effect to add your Willpower to the skill test being performed), or after completing the skill test being performed. A: Word of Weal can be played during either free player window of a skill test, so long as there is doom on the chosen asset by the time of playing. Once you’ve used its ability to add willpower to your skill value, you can shuffle Word of Woe into your deck if able; you do not wait until after you’ve resolved the test. Word of Woe can shuffle Word of Weal into your deck after you’ve fully resolved the ability on the chosen asset. (Rules Forum Answer, October 2024)
Last updated