Ally. Criminal.

Cost: 4. XP: 3.
Test Icons:
Health: 2. Sanity: 1.

After Trigger Man enters play: Attach an Illicit asset from your hand to Trigger Man (it is considered to be in play and under your control).

Exhaust Trigger Man and spend 1 resource: Resolve an ability on attached asset, without paying its cost. Resolve that ability with a base skill value of 4.

Allan Bednar
The Scarlet Keys Investigator Expansion #76.
No image

This is an interesting card, and some ramifications are not quite apparent at first glance.

First : the Illicit asset does not cost any ressource to put into play from your hand (nor any action either), but once it's attached to the Trigger Man, you have to pay 1 ressource per use. Most Illicit guns have a cost that is either the same or higher than the number of ammo it comes with. So a gun with 3 ammo that normally costs 3 ressources to put into play will cost you 3 ressources to fully use with the Trigger Man. With "more expensive" guns like the .45 Thompson, you can actually save a ressource, and in all cases you have the advantage of paying only for the ammo you actually use.

Of course, you have to factor in the (non-negligible) cost of the Trigger Man himself. But you get what you pay for : "fast" actions with a base value of 4. Interesting for a low-Fight rogue who wants to use weapons. The lower your stat, the better value you get from this, so Kymani, Trish and Sefina seem like good candidates. Alternately, a low-Int rogue could use Damning Testimony or, with less benefit, Lockpicks for this. And for our good mayor Charlie Kane and his horrendous stat line, it's even better, for fighting or investigating ! (It would have been awesome for Preston Fairmont, but you can't get any Illicit cards in his deck, so barring any "card-sharing shenanigans" with teammates, it doesn't work.)

Second : Nothing says you can't use the "activate" action on the asset yourself, even once it's attached to Trigger Man. So you could decide to use the gun (that you put into play for free) yourself, without paying the Trigger Man's 1 ressource. Probably not a good strategy by itself just to save money, but could be useful in a pinch, if you need to attack again.

Third : Nothing says the asset stops using slots, so you have to "share hands" with the guy, both of you holding stuff together. Weird, but OK

Which brings me to : other interesting assets that don't use hand slots.

Burglary : For 1 ressource, Investigate as a "fast" action with a base value of 4 to gain 3 ressources. It becomes a money engine, especially if you can boost your investigation with Magnifying Glass (Finn, Kymani, Trish)

Liquid Courage : Heal without spending you precious actions, at the cost of paying more. For rich rogues.

Disguise : Tony Morgan could reliably evade at 6, if necessary.

DrOGM · 21
Yeah, I'm pretty sure RAI the attached card uses slots. Stops you having 2x2h big guns, for example. Sadly :) It is definitely an interesting card economy wise, but rogues are usually flush with cash? So it's the opportunity cost of using Trigger Man over another ally. Especially since he's XP3 and so locked from any off-class Rogues. I don't doubt he's cool and can do some cool things. — fiatluxia · 62
The asset is never played so it doesn't gain any "Uses" like ammor or lockpicks, so such assets can't be used outside trigger mans ability. Also does this mean lockpicks 1 is immediately discarded? — Django · 4741
Thx for the review. Wow, I was sure the attached asset doesn't take any slot, but you're definitely right, it does! — chrome · 45
@Django From rules: "When a card bearing [uses] keyword enters play, place a number of resource tokens equal to the value (X)..." I would assume that "enters play" is a word combination to cover all ways how the asset may happen to appear in your play area, including being played, being put into play and, most likely, being attached from hand to another asset upon the latter is played, etc. — chrome · 45
Quick fun fact: This card uses the art for Leo Anderson from Arkham Horror 2e. The fact that Leo can't take it is adding insult to injury! Great card though, excited to use it. — MiskatonicFrosh · 326

Question about this card.

Does "without paying its -> cost” mean, we don't need to spend bullets/resources on cards with limited uses?

Also, does the attached card really take up my own slot? Where can I find such rule stated? Was really hoping to put a weapon on Trigger Man as my hands are already full with other tools.

castletime · 1
You just ignore the action cost to activate the ability. Each other cost like ammunition need to be payed additionally. — Tharzax · 1
Cards like Abigail Foreman and Elli Rubash state, that attached assets don't take up a slot, this card doesn't. Hence it's save to say, that it doesn't. — Susumu · 315
*Elli Horowitz of course. — Susumu · 315
I don't think you would pay and costs associated with the -> ability. If the card only removes the activate action, then it wouldn't need to say that at all because it's already triggering off of a free trigger. — Divitkid182 · 1