Rogue
Asset. Arcane

Ritual.

Cost: 3. XP: 2.
Test Icons:

Limit 1 per investigator.

After you perform the same type of action twice in a row, exhaust Haste: Take another action of that type again (types include activate, engage, evade, fight, investigate, move, play resource, and draw).

Patrick McEvoy
Point of No Return #239.
No image
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • Q: If I have a card like Flashlight that indicates an activate action [] and Investigate - is it considered an activate action, an Investigate action or both? What about when you play cards with a designator like Spectral Razor? Is that a play action or a Fight action? Both? A: Activating an ability with an action designator or playing a card with an action designator counts as both actions. Using a Flashlight, for example, would count as both an activate action and an investigate action.

  • Q: Would using Flashlight twice while triggering Haste allow you to either Investigate as a free action or use a card activation action? A: Yes, if you used Flashlight twice in a row and then triggered Haste, you could take either an additional activate action, or an additional investigate action (but not one of each).

Last updated
Reviews

Haste requires you to take two of the same type of action in a row, before giving you a bonus of the same type of action. While free actions are amazing, this means that Haste works best if you can use it a number of times to make up for the cost of doing so. (A baseline would be at least 3-5 times in a game, to make up for the card it takes, the play it takes, and the resource cost.) To confirm its usability, I've laid out the listed set of actions, in a vague order of less to more likely to be done in triplicate:

  • Unlikely:
    • Engage: You really don't want to repeatedly engage in most cases. It requires you to have 3+ monsters in one space on other characters, and you to take multiple Attacks of Opportunities.
    • Evade: You'll only make multiple evade checks if you're either evading multiple things, or have managed to botch numerous evade attempts. Neither are great situations to be in, but they can happen.
    • Move: Three moves is an awkward amount, since it's the equilvalent of spending your entire turn moving. If you really need to get somewhere, it can help, but since it requires you to move three or more spaces in one turn, it's generally better to avoid being in those positions if possible.
  • Possible:
    • Resource: While it's not ideal, there are turns where you need two more resources to get something. A third resource gain can at least help give you a bit of a boost for the future.
    • Draw: Similar to resource, while it's not ideal, if you're desperately searching for a card or need to refill your hand, an extra card won't hurt unless you're pushing yourself over the hand limit.
    • Play: If you have a turn where you really need to get a lot of cards out, this can give you a boost. You'll need to either have a good initial hand with Haste included or be in the right place for a couple of events along with assets lined up, but the saved setup time can be worthwhile.
  • Common:
    • Fight: Enemies can often require multiple hits before going down. This can give you a buffer if you're using some of the rogue's Opportunistic weapons, or save you a few charges/shots if you're using an Enchanted Blade or a Firearm.
    • Investigate: Now we're getting somewhere. If you're not playing Solo, you'll often need multiple investigate actions to completely clear a space of its clues. Even if you are playing solo, this effectively gives you a bit of wiggle room to deal with a failure along the way.
  • Special:
    • Activate: This is the most build-dependent use of Haste, but also what likely determines whether or not it's a good addition to your deck. You can activate different items in order to make Haste work, as long as all of them require in Activate action. You can spare a little extra to make an attempt at Burglary or take a swig from Liquid Courage. Go ahead and make a couple of attempts with your weapon of choice before using a Flashlight or Lockpicks to help clue up. Preston Fairmont can mix in an action banking his Family Inheritance. Sefina Rousseau can mix in a pull or two from underneath her card as long as you don't overdo it. Ornate Bow allows for you to work in both a shot and a reload before doing anything else. But if you have the XP to spare, the most flexible mechanism to use is Borrowed Time. In the worst case scenario, you can bank two actions for next turn and get a third free, earning an extra action every round. In other cases, you can make any other activations you have and bank the others.

Either oddly or fittingly enough, some of the more flexible users of this will be people who are already using Leo De Luca, or otherwise have bonus actions to begin with. It becomes much more practical to set up action chains when you have a bonus action to better position yourself before starting, and Tony Morgan can save a bit of ammo when he can take a preemptive couple of swings.

Ruduen · 99
Some of these are a bit more common than you're making them out to be I think. Play for example. How often do you see something like play emergency cache followed by play an asset ? I'd that putting Haste itself into play constitutes a play action, so you could play Haste, play EC and then immediately play another card, be it an event or asset. I suspect that kind of combo will be quite common. Another would be play Mr Rook, activate his free trigger (which doesn't interrupt the action chain) and then play the resulting card that you draw, gaining another play action. But it'll really bring home the bacon with activate actions since these usually double up as other actions. It makes action sink cards like Scrying or Alchemical Transmutation much more attractive since you can for example 'activate' another asset for fighting or investigating and then use them as effectively a free action. There are probably loads of awesome combos out there. Tbh I think this is card is a little underpriced for what it does. Compare it with Ace in the Hole for example, which is 6xp for 3 additional actions. This is 2xp and ought to easily give you 6 actions over the course of a game so long as you draw it earl enough. — Sassenach · 60
Remember that this is a Rogue 2 card. As is, there are actually very few non-rogues with access to Rogue 2 or other access to the card (Just Wendy and Marie for the moment, I think). The only person who could pull off a Mr. Rook combo is Finn, and that's costing him a valuable slot. And for the Mystic assets you're describing, the Arcane slot becomes a much larger concern for viability, seeing as you often can't spare a slot for an 'unusual' action and a second slot for Haste itself when you need them as primary fighting/investigation tools. Haste is almost certainly is underpriced if you can make good use of it - but that's a substantial enough 'if' that you can't just slot it into every deck, or justify it over other important early tools. — Ruduen · 99
Jenny also has access to Mr Rook. For that matter so does Marie, but actually I don't think she can take Haste since it's not a spell, it's a ritual. I take your point of course, but those were only examples I came up with off the top of my head. There are bound to be more. Hell, this might even make Henry Wan into a viable card if you can now trigger the action for free. In fact I really should try that out... — Sassenach · 60
Yep, for some reason I keep forgetting it's a Ritual and not a Spell. But yes, the main limiting factor for a lot of these combos is that the ally slot is valuable, so it's still hard to justify use for a lot of these. It's why my examples primarily focused on either common or slotless examples. — Ruduen · 99
Leo Anderson can also use Haste. — WolfGeneral349 · 3
Yes, he can. I actually looked over the list and spotted him when confirming everything, so I have no idea why I didn't add him to the list. — Ruduen · 99
Not sure about how this triggers. I believe that you can't play hot streak, haste, and then exhaust haste to play leo de luca (Jeeves model bioroids only count your click spent when rezzed, likely this card should only count your actions taken when played right?). But will its ability start to work when you are playing this asset? — Tzolkin1065 · 1
Haste has to be in play to count actions. So no you wouldnt be able to do that. — StyxTBeuford · 751
@Tzolkin1065 I believe you can do that. Haste's reaction triggers at "After you perform the action...", at which timing point playing Haste would finish resolving, thus Haste should already be in play. @StyxTBeuford I don't think this is the case. As long as Haste is in play when the timing point triggers it should be fine. — ak45 · 70
Arkham Chronicle has a video that goes in depth explaining what Haste can and can't do, and triggering Haste after playing it based on previous things you did that round is something that does not work. I thought it might as well, but his video uses Matt Newman as his main source. At 3:45 exactly in the video, he quotes Newman: "You can't trigger Haste's ability if it wasn't in play for one of the actions being counted." — StyxTBeuford · 751
@StyxTBeuford And at 4:05 in that same video it explicitly says that Haste does count the action spent to play it. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
I didn't think that's what we were referring to but maybe I misread. I assumed we talking about counting play actions (eg playing Hot Streak beforehand) counting towards Haste if Haster were played after. — StyxTBeuford · 751
Haste needs to have been in play for all the actions required eg not just when the timing point would trigger, but playing Haste itself can count as one of the actions towards its trigger. I think that's the clearest way to put this. — StyxTBeuford · 751
Also important to note for some builds that Haste tells you to ‘take an action’ means that a) it provokes AoOs and b) it counts towards action count for cards like Pay Day. It’s also an expensive combo, but Haste with Borrowed time gives you very easy ways to trigger it. Every turn you can spend 2 actions for 3 the next turn activating Borrowed Time, and during a six action turn, it is much easier to find some action you’d like to do three times! — Death by Chocolate · 13

Does haste also trigger when taking actions on Mythos or scenario cards? What about weaknesses if you have enough actions?

I suppose extra actions make it easier to trigger haste, while free actions that move you also work well to get to more clues.

Edit: Haste makes stuff like "gather ressource" and "draw card" more efficient. Gain 3 cards or 3 ressources for 2 actions? More efficient than Emergency Cache or Preposterous Sketches, if you include costs for drawing, ressources and playing them.

Free actions that grant other action types as effect don't count towards Haste cause you didn't spend an action to initiate them, like Pathfinder doesn't trigger Frozen in Fear. Examples: Double, Double, Uncage the Soul (Sefina), Ever Vigilant (Skids)

Edit2: Ignore my last paragragh, haste cares about performing the same type of action twice, not spending an action to do so. So above cards all trigger haste.

Django · 2221
If it’s got an action arrow I assume it at least counts towards “Activate”, so Id say yes. There’s plenty of encounter cards that require other specific actions as well. — StyxTBeuford · 751
Does this work with double double? — Rivilus · 1
I just realized, Haste says "types include..." which is not an exhaustive list. But it's true, weakness and encounter cards should count as "activate" like in the flashlight question. @Rivilus: Double says that you "play" that event, so i'd say it works. — Django · 2221
What about Uncage the soul (sefina) or Ever Vigilant (Skids)? — Django · 2221
After reading pathfinder, it seems stuff that doesn't cost an action doesn't trigger haste, so double and cards from my last question don't trigger either. — Django · 2221
Ignore my last comment, haste cares about performing the same type of action twice, not spending an action to do so. So above cards all trigger haste. Compared to Frozen in fear, haste cares about the resulting action type, while Frozen in fear checks if an action is initated and modifies the cost. — Django · 2221
Generally speaking, card and abilities that care about “performing” actions only count actions that spend one of your three action opportunities. Playing a fast action or using a fast ability, even one with an action designator, does not count as an action for such purposes.” Matthew Newman — Rivilus · 1
So from that I’m guessing pathfinder, double double etc don’t seem to work... — Rivilus · 1
I was going to say, I'm fairly certain Double, Double etc do not work because it doesn't cost an action, it's just a play effect. If it specifically said you received an extra play Action, it would work. This is relevant as Leo Anderson has the same effect- he gets to play an ally at the beginning of his turn, but it doesn't not count as an action and therefore won't trigger Haste. — StyxTBeuford · 751