Asset. Arcane


Cost: 4. XP: 4.
Test Icons:


After you play an event, exhaust Double, Double: Play that event again as if it were in your hand.

Harpier cries, "'Tis time, 'tis time."
- William Shakespeare, Macbeth
Tiziano Baracchi
Before the Black Throne #320.
Double, Double
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • "As If": This was added to the FAQ (v.1.7, March 2020) and then amended (v.1.8, October 2020). You can read the October ruling on the ArkhamDB rules page here. (I'm adding a hyperlink rather than retyping the rules in case in future the ruling is changed or amended - at that point, the rules page will be updated and all ArkhamDB FAQ entries will link to the correct ruling.)

  • Q: Double, Double vs Pay Day. Can the of Double, Double be initiated despite the end of the turn [from Pay Day]? If the turn immediately ends, does this mean even if Pay Day is played again, no actions were performed and the second pay day will grant no resources? A: Technically, you can use Double, Double to play a card that ends your turn twice, even though it ends your turn. Ending your turn doesn’t mean that you can’t trigger effects, it just means that you can no longer take actions. Since the second playing of the card doesn’t cost an action in this case, you can go ahead and resolve it even though your turn has ended. HOWEVER, due to the specific text on Pay Day, doing so would essentially do nothing. It says that you gain 1 resource for each action you performed this turn. Since you are playing it outside of your turn, you would gain 0 resources from the second copy of Pay Day (since the first copy ended your turn.)

  • Q: Double, Double vs The Painted World. I imagine The Painted World cannot be played twice by Double, Double, since it's removed from the game, but can the copied event be played twice? A: You can absolutely use Double, Double to play The Painted World twice. Note that it says you play it “as if it were in your hand,” so each time you played it in this way, you could choose a different event beneath Sefina Rousseau. Keep in mind this may not work with some events (such as events that become attachments or go to a specific play area) as you only actually have one physical copy of The Painted World to move around.

Last updated
  1. Double, Double.
  2. The title of this card is a single word, doubled.
  3. The cost of this card is 2 x 2 = 4.
  4. The level of this card is also 4.
  5. Because it is exceptional, you pay double the XP to buy this card.
  6. Ironically, because it is exceptional, you can only have 1 in your deck.
  7. It has 2 commit icons on it.
  8. Not counting the duplicating coin in the middle, there are 16 (or 2^2^2) intact coins on the artwork.
  9. It lets you play any event twice.
  10. Aside from the keyword, the flavor text and rules text each take up 2 lines (4 total)
  11. It takes up an Arcane slot, of which you have 2.
  12. It is card 320 (2^5 x 10, note 2 x 5 = 10) in "The Circle Undone" cycle.
  13. It is in "Before the Black Throne", the Mythos pack containing the 8th Scenario this cycle.
  14. "The Circle Undone" is the 4th cycle of Arkham Horror LCG.
  15. The set symbol for "The Circle Undone" shows a severed figure 8, which contains 2 loops.
  16. The Rogue class symbol has 2 loops intertwined as well.

Alright enough of that. Clearly this is a Sefina Rousseau card. Get some extra value from The Painted World, a card that normally is restricted to three plays a game. Because Painted World becomes a copy of whatever card you play it as initially, I'm fairly sure you'd have to play that same event again if you Double, Double it, instead of getting to change targets, but that's okay. There's a lot of cards worth doubling: Drawn to the Flame, Sneak Attack, Backstab, Swift Reflexes, Narrow Escape, Hot Streak. Some events wont benefit well from this (Ward of Protection, Drawn to the Flame on lower player counts, Sure Gamble), but overall you'll probably get more than enough value out of it to make it worthwhile. Hot Streak is already a very powerful Sefina card when combined with Lola Santiago, so doubling it seems strong. Speaking of Lola and Hot Streak, Preston Fairmont likes this card as well. Preston relies on events to do anything (Intel Report, Decoy, Small Favor, "Look what I found!") so this could be very valuable action economy for him. Oh, and there's also Ace in the Hole.

That said I'm not fully sure how some of the timing would work there. Could you use it to discover four clues with "Look what I found!"? Could Sefina double Think on Your Feet and move two locations instead of one, or can she not double the card since she didn't draw another enemy? I'm not sure how the timing works here. Still, I'm sure there will be plenty of targets for this card. Two paragraphs.

StyxTBeuford · 12385
What Money Talks does is change the type of a skill test from ‘whatever it is’ to a resource skill test. Playing it again with Double, Double would then change it (again) to a resource skill test - i.e. no actual effect besides exhausting Double, Double. — Death by Chocolate · 627
Ah yes you're right. I'll edit that out. — StyxTBeuford · 12385
Double thumbs up for this post. Doubled. — mythosmeeple · 303
This reply is here to make sure there are 4 comments on this review. — StyxTBeuford · 12385
Do you pay for the event a second time? — dotPeddy · 1
Yes — Alogon · 620
I'm really scared of one thing "play it again as if it were in your hand". Does that mean that you have to pay the cost again ? Action and all ? I don't think so because it would make the card so mediocre in comparison of its cost, but a confirmation would be appreciated. — Docteur_Hareng · 1
You pay the cost, not the action. — StyxTBeuford · 12385
> Could Sefina double Think on Your Feet and move two locations instead of one — Steinbran · 1
"Could Sefina double Think on Your Feet and move two locations instead of one." Of course not, you have to replay the event as if it were in your hand. When you move the first time, the trigger for TOYF is no longer met. Same with "Because Painted World becomes a copy of whatever card you play it as initially, I'm fairly sure you'd have to play that same event again if you Double, Double it" TPW is played "as a copy" but doesn't "become" that other card. Once it's removed from play it is simply a regular TPW (which is why it doesn't work with e.g. Delve to Deep). — Steinbran · 1
This is just to verify playing it with Hot Streak. You collect the resources from the first Hot Streak and can use those to pay for Double, Double replayed Hot Streak. That is how I interpret the card but I have made plenty of mistakes in this game before. — TWWaterfalls · 709
I want to know very clearly whether the effect of this card will make me pay for the action again,thank you very much. — zephyr1001 · 1
Does "Double, Double" replay the same card or does it create another instance of a card that is an exact copy of the event you just played which you then may play during that window? — Kaldaran · 1
It says "Play that card again..." So I think it plays that card. There's no concept of creating a copy of a card described in the rulebook (up to this release; Swarm does use that term I think) — Yenreb · 9
@Zephyr The effect of playing the copy is not done as an action- it's timed as part of the reaction ability on Double Double. It's the same thing as the Guardian card "Ever Vigilant", where for one action you play 3 assets at once. You do have to pay the cost of the event again. — StyxTBeuford · 12385
Saw a deck, recently that used this to double Lucid Dreaming in order to grab both other copies of Three Aces. Seems like a decent combo, if not quite as strong as Mandy's ability. — Zinjanthropus · 157

We discovered a nifty little combo with this and Scrounge for Supplies. If you can draw both copies of Scrounge, you can double-play one to bring back the other Scrounge plus another card from your discard pile. Then you can repeat this every 1-2 turns to bring back cards from the discard at will. Of note, this combo costs no resources once the Double, Double is in play, and only one action each time you bring back the card (the same one action it would take to draw a card from your deck), although it uses up your Double, Double effect for the turn. The effect is potentially very strong, especially in the late game, but can only get back level 0 cards. Since Scrounge is a pretty good card anyways, it is a no-brainer for any investigator who will be taking Double, Double.

Finn Edwards, Jenny Barnes, Preston Fairmont and Tony Morgan can use this combo, and other Rogues can use Versatile to get the 2 scrounges.

jmmeye3 · 532
This seems particularly strong for Preston recurring lots of powerful level 0 events, such as "Look what I found!", Intel Report, and Trial By Fire. — aeongate · 157
"Dynamite Jenny"? — mogwen · 224
Agreed that this is great with Preston. Recurring dynamite blast would be fun, though expensive even for Jenny! — jmmeye3 · 532
Do you really need both Scrounge for supplies? When you play it, you resolve the first event, you take your 0 lvl card from discard and you put scrounge in discard (point 4th of appendice 1 - reference guide). You active Double, Double (reaction + after means that you have to resolve completely the activation element - so going throw the point 4 of appendice 1 )- you play the copy and scrounge is already in the discard pile. — eldiran · 2
According to the most recent FAQ the altered game state of "as if" effects while being resolved are valid for any other card. So while you are playing scroung for supplies a second time due to double double, you are playing it "as if" it were in your hand, so during this whole resolution it's not considered in your discard pile and it can't target itself. — Killbray · 54
You can get Scrounge for Supplies back from the initial, 'legit' playing, no? You play it, it goes immediately to discard, and then you take it back with Scrounge's effect? Then with the 'doubled' playing take the other card you wanted. — BlankedyBlank · 7
Sadly, Finn Edwards cannot take Double, Double. — elkeinkrad · 86

Currently the deck builder allows you to put two of these in a deck. Being fuzzy on the rules for 'exceptional' I did that. Yes I realize it means I've been cheating for quite a few scenarios but I just want to say that having two copies in play is the most glorious thing I've seen in any game so far :p

jmccrary · 11
You could actually legally have two copies in play - one of your own, and one played from someone else's hand with You Owe Me One. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
Only if you don't care about losing friendships... — Sassenach · 134
Couldn't you use a second copy of You Owe Me One to take a third copy from a second (former) friend? — cb42 · 26
Depends on the investigator. It would need 3 arcane slots so it would have to be somebody with mystic access, although I guess Versatile is a thing. — Sassenach · 134
(1) Play 2 Sign Magicks as Sef, then steal 1 copy each from Jenny and Preston. Then have Skids give you his with Teamwork. (2) ???? (3) Profit? — bricklebrite · 264
Oops, Teamwork doesn't work on Rituals. I knew that card was crap! — bricklebrite · 264
Maybe play Double Double on "You Owe me One" to steal twice? I think that works. Now, if only we could figure out a way to get 5 copies in play... — bricklebrite · 264
The duplicated event still takes an action, so even with Leo you can only benefit from so many Doubles... unless of course you're using them all to double Ace in the Hole :p — jmccrary · 11
Why would the duplicated event still take an action? The trigger on Double Double tells you to play that card. See also Joey "the Rat" or "You owe me one". — Yenreb · 9
The duplicated event does not take an action. We have so many cards that work similarly that show this is the case- Easy Mark, Tony's Long Colt, Ever Vigilant, You Owe Me One, Joey, the list goes on. — StyxTBeuford · 12385
I think - I could be wrong- that @ jmccrary's point is that playing the event in the first place, before duplicating it, takes an action, so you need extra actions to use more than three Double Doubles/per turn. But honestly, if you've built your entire team around giving four copies of Double Double to Sefina, then I guess you're going to build in a way to use all four :). — bee123 · 24
Because it has the text "as if it were in your hand" and playing a non-fast event from hand requires an action, does that not mean the duplicate requires an action? — Halo99 · 1
It does not, as playing a card is not inherently an action. Playing is am action you can take, just like taking 1 resource is an action you can take. If a card tells you to gain a resource as a result of its effect, you dont pay an action for that resource. Same principle- this is a reaction trigger, and the effect is you get to play the event. It doesn’t take an action because its an effect that’s part of the react trigger. — StyxTBeuford · 12385
If you YOMO'd a couple of copies of this to Sefina, and were playing without the taboo list, you could get like a million extra actions with Ace in the Hole (by a million, I mean 12, because teams are generally limited to 4 players) — Zinjanthropus · 157