Q: For cards like Deny Existence, "I've had worse…", Delay the Inevitable, etc, do they directly or indirectly work against effects that do not deal damage and horror directly to your investigator (e.g. Snake Bite) or deal direct damage to other things as well as your investigator (e.g. Centuries of Secrets, Ceremony Room)? A: Delay the Inevitable, I've Had Worse and Deny Existence only work when you (aka your investigator) are being dealt damage/horror. If damage or horror is being dealt directly to a card other than your investigator, you cannot use Deny Existence, Delay the Inevitable, or I've Had Worse to cancel/ignore it.This ruling has been overturned and, at the time of updating (27/07/22), we await an FAQ update to bring this ruling in line with FAQ entry 2.12, Interpreting "You" When Taking or Being Dealt Damage. The information we currently have is:
- According to our current rulings, “you” are “dealt damage” when your investigator or an asset you control is dealt damage.
- This does mean that, if you activated the ability on Beat Cop while you had Hypochondria in your threat area, “you” would have been dealt damage, and you must then take 1 direct horror.
- This also means that the previous ruling on Delay the Inevitable and similar cards has been overturned; those cards would count damage dealt to your assets as damage dealt “to you.”
Q: If you discard a Curse with Centuries of Secrets, does FAQ 2.12 (Interpreting "you" when taking or being dealt damage) mean that all of the damage, including the direct damage to your allies, counts as damage being dealt "to you"? If so, what happens if you play Deny Existence? Can you ignore the direct damage being dealt to your allies? Can you ignore all of the damage being dealt, or do you have to pick just one of the one-damage hits to ignore? If you use Deny 5 to ignore the direct damage being dealt to an ally, the healing still applies to your investigator card, right? A: We rule that if you were to play Deny Existence (5), you could ignore one of the following effects on Centuries of Secrets: dealing 1 damage to yourself, or dealing 1 damage to one of your Ally assets (not each, unfortunately). Depending on which you ignored, you could either heal 1 from your investigator, or 1 from the chosen Ally.
Q: As of recent rulings [see above], we now know Deny Existence (5) can heal damage from allies when they take direct damage from an effect such as Centuries of Secrets, because the "opposite" of an ally taking direct damage is the ally healing that damage. However, what about the case of non-direct damage? Deny Existence triggers "when...[you would]...take damage/horror", so it triggers before the damage assignment process has initiated. Typically, "you" refers to "your investigator card and assets you control", collectively, for the purposes of damage-related effects. Thus, at the time Deny Existence is played, the effect it has triggered on is "you (collectively) would take damage/horror". Then, Deny Existence performs the "opposite" of that effect - so could the "opposite" effect in this case be "you (collectively) heal damage/horror"? In other words, say I have a Beat Cop (2) in play with two damage tokens on him. An enemy with a damage value of 2 attacks me. I play Deny Existence (5); can I heal 2 damage from Beat Cop (2)? A: We rule that in that situation, Deny Existence (5) would be able to heal 2 damage from your ally.
Q: When I draw the weakness Offer You Cannot Refuse with 4 resources in my pool, when can I use Deny Existence? Before Offer resolves the upgrade of the weakness or after? If I can play deny, do I still need to upgrade the offer or not? A: If you play Deny Existence (either version) as a response to Offer You Cannot Refuse instructing you to lose 5 resources, then the “If you cannot” sentence of Offer’s ability does not apply. The sentence only applies when you have less than 5 resources at the time of resolving the Revelation and no other way to counter or respond to that effect.
Fast. Play when an encounter card or enemy attack would cause you to do one of the following (choose one): Discard cards from hand, lose resources, lose actions, take damage, or take horror.
You ignore that aspect of the effect. Then, perform the opposite of that aspect (draw cards, gain resources, gain additional actions, heal damage, or heal horror, respectively).
Outright the most insane defense card in the game. Very good. If your deck didn't have space for Deny Existence at 0xp then absolutely grab Deny Existence if at any point you're overflowing XP.
The thing that makes this card so good is that it is such an end-all solution to so much pain. Scenarios tend to throw a limited amount of pain your way (a scenario is only going to last so long, you'll only draw so many treacheries and face so many enemies), cards that single-handedly solve a defensive problem are very strong, for the reason that they are very effective for their slot. First Aid for example (probably) completely negates your risk of death from damage or horror (or both), although it will cost you 4 actions and 2 resources. Hallowed Mirror does the same with some slot restrictions and the need to draw the cards, but completely solves either damage or horror as a problem for that investigator or a friend.
Deny Existence not only saves you pain, it removes it! An effect that deals you 2 horror, heals 2 horror instead. This is a swing of 4 horror! Often enough to get you out of the risk-zone for the rest of the scenario. Also this is just a fairly average scenario, the crazy crap that starts to happen when you're negating the loss of resources, instances of 3 horror or damage ETC it can get brutally good. Also note that those other cards are generally doing this in 3-4 actions, Deny Existence is free to play and "fast".
This is the very best emergency button card in the game, barring perhaps only Ward of Protection in the instance where it discards a big enemy.
Not a review per say, just a pre-emptive question...
What if you draw a treachery where it is "Lose all resources"
What is the opposite of "all" in this instance, for the purposes of this card technically reversing the effect
Easy if it is something like, lose 3 resources, because it becomes gain 3 resources
Might need a FAQ on this one ASAP