Neutral
Asset. Hand

Item. Weapon. Melee.

Cost: 3.
Test Icons:

Silas Marsh deck only.

: Fight. You get +1 for this attack. If you committed 1 or more skills to this skill test, this attack deals +1 damage. When this skill test ends, you may return Sea Change Harpoon to your hand to return all of your committed skill cards to your hand instead of discarding them.

Robert Laskey
The Innsmouth Conspiracy #14.
Sea Change Harpoon
Reviews

So at last! The harpoon! Commit yer Resourcefuls, yer Inspiring Presences, anything you can and ponder real hard on if you want em back in exchange for three resources and an action. Probably do. Getting more resourcefuls is like hard drugs. Do it. 100% won't regret it.

ironbrw · 9
What a powerhouse weapon. Silas got a major boost from this. Even without replaying it just to keep your skills, which I don't think you'll do that often, it's basically Machete. — StyxTBeuford · 11925

In my Silas deck, this was usually a back up weapon. But then I realized the power of using this with Opportunist(2). That way, this becomes a pretty nice alternative to machete. The same technique can power your net. There aren’t a lot of great weapons in survivor if you can’t get chainsaw going for you consistently, this will do you well.

MrGoldbee · 586
Better than Opportunist (2) (that you should get back after the test, there is Quick thinking, expecially if you don't us the taboo list: commit, succed, get an action, get it back in hand, commit again, gain an action again. — AlexP · 65

So, if I read this correctly this card does not interact with non-skill cards committed to the test. Makes you think how many skill cards you need to run in a Silas deck to reliably hit for 2 with this.

Since Silas's own ability also doesn't interact with non-skill cards you probably want a lot of skills in your deck. — Yenreb · 9
The answer is no more than usual. Silas runs well with lots of skills since he’s otherwise just a core survivor. I see Silas decks with 16-20 skills regularly. — StyxTBeuford · 11925
No more than usual for book Silas vs core Silas, I mean. — StyxTBeuford · 11925

A decent weapon if you are committing skills to the Fight test, and, being Silas, why wouldn't you? The extra ability is nice, although, in my experience, Silas runs pretty lean on resources, so getting his committed cards back at the cost of 3 resources (and an action) might be a tough trick to pull off frequently, especially with his other signature asset doing more or less the same thing. If only we could have a Moneybags Silas....

With two pretty good signature assets and a hard but manageable signature weakness, it's up to personal preference whether you want to go with the "box," "book," or both signature sets. Those sailors, they are versatile.

Just wanted to double check that I have this rule correct. For the sea change harpoon you do an extra damage if you commit a skill card to it. If you commit a skill card and then use his ability to pull the card back, you still do the extra damage correct (as long as you succeed on the skill check without the skill icons on the skill card you pulled back.) The way I see it a card WAS committed to the test, it was just pulled back into my hand before the skill icons or any abilities of the skill card took effect. — Kickface · 7