Eucatastrophe

Posting another clarification ruling from Matt.

Question:

Eucatastrophe reads, "Play when you reveal a chaos token that would reduce your skill value to 0 during a skill test (including the [Auto-fail] token)." Some of us on message boards are wondering whether, let's say, if Calvin Wright was at 0 intellect (with no additional boosts via any other assets or card effects), and Calvin initiated an intellect skill test. Calvin draws any zero or negative chaos token. In this situation the chaos token would cause his skill value to stay at 0, since it's already at 0 and cannot be lowered any further. Would Calvin be able to play Eucatastrophe in this situation? Did the chaos token "reduce the skill value to 0" in this case? What about the same question for a "Wendy Adams" with "Haunted" initiating a combat skill test? She would also have a skill value of 0 before drawing the skill token.

Answer:

Greetings,

A RAW reading of Eucatastrophe leads me to conclude that in order for you to be able to play it, the chaos token revealed must actually have the potential to reduce your skill value to 0—in other words, your modified skill value must be above 0 at the time you reveal the token, and the token must have a value that would reduce your modified skill value to 0 once it is calculated. In other words, if your skill value is already at 0 and you drew a 0 token, that wouldn’t allow you to play Eucatastrophe, because your skill value wasn’t reduced to 0.

Hope that helps!

Cheers,

Matthew Newman

Senior Card Game Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

iceysnowman · 118
Versatile

So, now every investigator is able to blur the lines regarding classes not just those came with Dunwich Legacy, but there is a catch: The card has an experience cost attached to it so in campaign play you have to buy it later, you cannot start with it. The issue with that is, it also increases your deck size by +5 and deckbuilding rules have to be obeyed at any given time. Now, as far as I do understand it, this means you not only buy Versatile for 2 XP, but you have to immediately buy 5 level 0 cards for 5 xp as well ("Each card costs experience equal to the card's level, to a minimum of 1 (purchasing a level zero card still costs 1 experience). The number of pips beneath a card's cost indicates the card's level.") There seem to be no kind of "auto fill" like with cards lost due to exile.

So if I am right here, versatile increases your deck size, you have to spent all XP to fulfill the +5 deck size at once. I wonder, if am overlooking something currently, because evidently it would require hoarding XP and careful planning what seems to be a bit overdone just for a single level 0 card of any class.

thakaris · 16
Maybe applies Exlie rules from Dunwich: — Dark Oracle · 4
No way. I'm sure it will be considered similar to exile cards: " you must purchase cards so that a legal deck size is maintained (when purchasing cards in this manner, you may purchase level 0 cards for 0 experience cost until a legal deck size is reached)". But it needs confirmation, indeed. — Okami · 19
You are right, it should work like exile, but exile rules only apply to - well - exile. This is not the case here so as far as I do understand it, it won't apply in this case. — thakaris · 16
For now I'd play it like Exile, but you're right, rules as written you wouldn't be allowed to buy Versatile unless you have 7 XP to spare. — StyxTBeuford · 632
Cards with Myriad will allow you to add up to three cards, for the price of one. — Csys · 1
This issue is technically ancient, but has never properly gotten included in the FAQ. Blood on the Altar resolution can bring you below the deckbuilding requirement without explicitly allowing you to purchase replacement cards without spending xp (i think this was informally answered outside of the FAQ however) — Difrakt · 642
Father Mateo overrides this issue ;) — Balin · 27
Rules are very clear, you cannot be below deck size. So you can purchase Level 0 cards for 0xp each untill you reach correct deck size. — VARRAKK · 1
If you receive 2 exp from scenario and that is your only exp, when you buy this you are on 0. BUT you must make a legal that so there is no other way but to fill up the slots with 0 level cards. I don't see any other logical reason. The question however arises if you have some 4 or more exp at this time.. can you spend 1 exp on a 1 exp card and then fill out the rest with 0? I think you can. I don't however think you can decide to not spend any excess cards and still fill out the slots with 0 level for 0 exp. — ReiNijs · 1
I have asked Matthew Newman this question, and that is what he came up with, this seems to be very interesting: We’ll be adding this to the next iteration of the FAQ, but the rule about repurchasing cards when you exile a card and must purchase a new card to maintain your deck size applies here, as well. Essentially, anytime a card effect causes your deck size to be under your investigator’s required deck size, you may purchase new level 0 cards at 0 experience cost to make up for this. This includes both effects that remove cards from your deck (such as when you exile a card), and also effects that increase your deck size. — thakaris · 16
Arcane Insight

Posting a clarification ruling here from Matt!

Question:

Arcane Horror reads, "[Free Trigger]: While an investigator is taking his or her turn, spend 1 charge: Your location gets -2 shroud until the end of this turn. (Limit once per turn.)" My question is, if I use this effect during my turn, and then I move to a new location, is it the old location or the new location that now has its shroud reduced? That is, does the phrase "your location" mean the location that I was at when I triggered the effect, or is "your location" continually re-evaluated by the game to be whatever location I'm currently at? Does the shroud reduction effect "stay" with the old location where I used the effect, or does the effect "move" with my investigator?

Answer:

Greetings, Since this is a triggered ability and not a constant effect, “your location” refers to the location you were at when you triggered the ability, and lasts until the end of the turn even if you move away from the location. In other words, if you are at Location A, trigger Arcane Insight, and then move to Location B, Location A keeps its –2 shroud; it does not move with you to Location B.

Cheers,

Matthew Newman

Senior Card Game Developer

Fantasy Flight Games

iceysnowman · 118
Otherworldly Compass

If one of your team members has a Lola Santiago, Otherworldly Compass can help the as the player playing Lola can trigger Lola's ability in the middle of your Otherworldy Compass investigate test! A nice and repeatable combo, as long as you have the resources for it :).

iceysnowman · 118
Ooh that's cool. So you're at a 4 shroud location, connected to 3 locations. You trigger an Investigate with OC, which reduces shroud to 1. Then you trigger Lola and pay 1 for another clue. Nice! — acotgreave · 33
Why stop there? Surely the same synergy can be achieved with the humble flashlight, or taken to the next level with The Skeleton Key? — Lucaxiom · 187
Yes, Flashlight and Skeleton Key definitely work too, and have the advantage of [usually] being able to be in the same deck as the Rogue player. However, I think that Otherworldly Compass might be the most easily repeatable shroud decreaser -- Flashlight has 3 supplies, and Skeleton Key can be a little slow if you're moving the key around a lot (plus it's exceptional). I also have a soft spot for Otherworldly Compass though because the art is so pretty... — iceysnowman · 118
Read the Signs

This card joins the ranks of a growing list of events that grab 1-2 clues. I think Read the Signs is not the best of these, but also not the worst. In general, events like this get one clue for 2 resources and a card (Working a Hunch or 2 clues for 2 resources, a card and an action (Scene of the Crime, for example). Some cost less but have limitations (Eavesdrop) or drawbacks (Drawn to the Flame). Most require skill checks but a few are test-less (Working a Hunch and Scene of the Crime.

Good things about Read the Signs include lack of limitations, special requirements or punishments, and a bonus that is better than all the other similar events that require skill checks. The ability to ignore a location effect is probably pretty limited (only works on keywords effects triggered during the investigation), but of note “ignore” triggers Diana Stanley’s power. However, overall Read the Signs is probably second only to Working a Hunch in terms of flexibility, and so is less likely to be a dead card sitting in your hand compared to many of the other similar events.

The main consideration when deciding whether to include a card like Read the Signs is that its effect should provide a major advantage over a regular investigate action. So it is less valuable with strong investigators like Daisy Walker and Norman Withers. Diana Stanley is a special case because it could activate her power. Sefina Rousseau loves it, as pointed out by others, since she needs events and since she would rather avoid possible enemies coming from Drawn to the Flame, so I think Read the Signs either joins DtoF or replaces it for Sefina. Many other mystics would at least consider this card, since they tend to have 3 or less intellect.

jmmeye3 · 209
I've got this in a Patrice deck I've been building - seems like a great fit for her. — acotgreave · 33
agree with your comparative evaluation. I like this with Luke — Lord Phrank · 1
Patrice, Luke, Sefina, Mateo, Akachi, Diana, we have a bunch of investigators that will be interessed in this card. — mogwen · 115