Interrogate

This card is in a lot perspective similar to Scene of the Crime, that it is hard to not make a comparison:

Similarities:

  • Cost 2, which is non-trivial in the resource-hungry class.
  • Gather 2 clues in 1 action while ignoring shroud-value and investigate-based effects. Great value! Combat fucused often lack ways to gather even a single clue, let alone multiple clues. Amazing.
  • Requires an enemy at your location. This is kind of annoying, since as a it is your job to kill the enemy at first sight. Spending an action on clue gathering may leave you insufficient action to finish off the enemy, or otherwise more vulnerable to auto-failing attacks.
  • Same set of icons ( + ), which is mildly useful.

Pros:

  • Does not need to be the first action. It adds some flexibility that you can move into the Humanoid's location before you use this card.
  • 1 of the 2 clues comes from any other location you choose, which may be useful if the enemy does not conveniently spawn on the hard-to-investigate locations.

Cons:

  • Literally unplayable without an enemy, while Scene of the Crime just become worse but still decent.
  • The enemy needs to have the Humanoid trait, which may not even exist for certain scenarios.
  • This card requires a test of usually 4, which even the best has a realistic chance to fail.

Sadly the comparison with Scene of the Crime is unfavorable. The flexibility that Interrogate offers, IMHO, does not outweigh Scene of the Crime's reliability. That said, Scene of the Crime is the single best clue-gathering card. As a card comparable to it, Interrogate is still quite a good card.

Reasons to run Interrogate in addition to Scene of the Crime:

  • Your party lack clue-gathering power.
  • You know the scenario will contain a lot of Humanoids, like those feature the Dark Cult encounter set. Better if you have access to Adaptable (Leo and Skids).
  • You are Joe Diamond and you want more clue-gathering stuffs in your Hunch deck, and/or need a way to pick up the lost clue due to Unsolved Case.
  • You have the econ to pay both cards.

Reasons to run Interrogate instead of Scene of the Crime:

  • You are playing Solo, that double clue locations are rare. 1 clue each from different locations often cleans both up, which is amazingly good for one action. Keep in mind that enemies are also rarer in Solo, so it could be a bit more situational.
ak45 37
Diana Stanley

Pros:

  1. Strong signature cards (especially Dark Insight)
  2. Decent intellect and strength
  3. +1 resource/ +1 card activated effect is strong incentive to play ignore/cancel effects, since it often makes them free cantrips. This also makes her deck cycle faster.
  4. Access to cards, which increases her potential for combat
  5. Potential for 6 base willpower in late game
  6. She starts with 6 cards (with Dark Insight as one of them), and if you mulligan you can get up to 6 new cards!
  7. I think her signature weakness is not as devastating as many others. You can choose which cards to ditch and which to keep for 1 horror. This actually helps clear space for new additions. But it also favors not relying too heavily on her willpower (see below).

Cons:

  1. Very low starting willpower. This creates a conundrum because cards like Shrivelling will be very difficult to use for part of the game, and hard to justify with access to cards like Machete. Upgraded spells that boost willpower should be easier to use. If you do rely heavily on willpower, it incentivizes playing your cancel/ignore effects earlier, and even potentially wasting them instead of saving them for harsher threats.
  2. Why choose Diana Stanley to wield Machete when you can use other guardians with 4 or 5 strength? I think you have to make good use of her cards and 3 intellect to justify this.
jmmeye3 63
where is it actually written that she starts with dark insight in her hand ? I know it was said in the article of her release, but it's not indicated anywhere on her investigator card if i'm not mistaken — aurchen 1
It’s on the deck building side of her card — Gebbeth 1
Nevermind, I missed that part of her card. Thank you — aurchen 1
From reading the rules for Draw Starting Hands and Mulligan, I don’t think you can mulligan Dark Insight. Drawing the opening hand refers to the entire process, but when you look at Muligan, you see that the initial five cards are called the starting hand, and that’s what you mulligan from. For comparison, look at Sefina: her ability, which replaces drawing the opening hand, replaces the entire step - not just the pre-muligan starting hand. Therefor it was follow that starting with Dark Insight in her Opening Hand occurs independent (effectively after) the mulligan. For an alternative argument consider this part of the Mulligan rule wording: “to declare a mulligan on any number of the drawn cards“. Dark Insight was not drawn and is therefor ineligible for the mulligan. — Death by Chocolate 8
Thanks Death by Chocolate, I think you are right. If so, she has not have an advantage on mulligans. Starting with the Dark Insight as an extra card is definitely good though! — jmmeye3 63
Cancelling an attack is triggering her ability? I'd assume yes, but who knows. — Gatherey 1
@Gatherey It certainly does. Attacks are a type of effect called a ‘framework effect’ which arises from following the game structure framework. Simply put an effect is a ‘thing that happens’, and Diana triggers off of all effects - regardless of whether they are the result of rules text on cards or in the general rules of the game itself. — Death by Chocolate 8
Deny Existence

This card is best with Diana, for whom (as long as you have an open spot beneath her) it replaces itself and gives +1 resource (same net bonus as Emergency Cache). It might be usable in some other decks, especially if you are trying to increase your spell count (for Arcane Initiate, etc). Awesome artwork, too!

jmmeye3 63
When using it with Diana, does this card stop Rites of Seeking from ending your turn? My gut feeling is no. It counters the "lose actions" part but the end turn line is an additional effect. Came up in a game last night but I think it'd still cause her to end her turn, she'd just do it with all her actions. — skanedog 1
@skanedog Rite of Seeking is neither an encounter card nor an enemy attack, so Deny Existence doesn't even trigger. — TheNameWasTaken 2
Eldritch Inspiration

For reference, as of The Circle Undone, here is a list of negative effects that Eldritch Inspiration can be used to mitigate:

Alchemical Transmutation - Take 1 damage.
Astral Travel - Discard an item or ally asset from play, take 1 damage if you cannot.
Blinding Light - Lose 1 action.
Blinding Light (2) - Lose 1 action and take 1 horror.
Mists of R'lyeh & Mists of R'lyeh (2) - Choose and discard a card.
Recharge (2) - Discard the chosen asset. (Note: You still don't get the 3 charges in this case.)
Rite of Seeking & Rite of Seeking (2) & Rite of Seeking (4) - Lose all remaining actions and end your turn.
Seal of the Seventh Sign (5) - Remove 1 charge from Seal of the Seventh Sign.
Shrivelling & Shrivelling (3) - Take 1 horror.
Shrivelling (5) - Take 2 horror.
Storm of Spirits - Deal 1 damage to each investigator at your location.
The Chthonian Stone - Return The Cthonian Stone to your hand.

Here is a list of positive effects that can be doubled using Eldritch Inspiration:

Eldritch Inspiration - Can actually be used on a second copy of itself, but it won't quadruple the effect it will just triple it.
Hypnotic Gaze - Deal an attacking enemy's damage to itself.
Jewel of Aureolus (2) - Draw a card or gain 2 resources.
Recall the Future (2) - +2 skill value for this test (named , , , or token only).
Ritual Candles - +1 skill value for this test.
Song of the Dead (2) - +2 damage ( only).

Note that and on cards will count as triggers for this card, as per the Rules Reference. Father Mateo doesn't actually get an additional benefit from repeating his conversion of to , and Jim Culver's to 0 conversion is static and not a trigger.

I like that this can save charges from Seal of the Seventh Sign. — Django 1560
The interaction of the card with Rite of Seeking is interesting. If you have the card in your hand, You can safely use Rite of Seeking as your first action. Chances are you will not draw a BS token, since usually only ~1/3 of the chaos tokens are BS ones. You then ignores the drawback of Rite of Seeking without costing anything. It is like Lucky! in this sense. — ak45 37
Act of Desperation

Don't sleep on this card!

The real power here is in gaining back a bunch of resources from a spent item while also gaining tempo by dealing 2 damage for 0 resources. Cards that grant click compression tend to be among the best cards in the game. The "if you succeed" clause is also generally fine coming from the faction with both Lucky! and Live and Learn.

So what deck can use an Act of Desperation? Honestly, anything with Backpack, it has almost perfect synergy with that card and deckbuilding style. Mark Harrigan puts this under his Stick to the Plan to recoup the investment on his Lightning Gun or M1918 BAR. Survivors tend to be swimming in cheap items and card draw so it can act as a backup to Fire Axe (at least until they all upgrade to Ornate Bow or Timeworn Brand).

Then on top of all of this, the card has symbols like so much gravy.

The most obvious abuse of this card is Yorick discarding a empty or jammed Old hunting rifle killing the monster and playing the rifle back at no cost — Susu 1