Gray's Anatomy
The Doctors' Bible

Seeker
Asset. Hand

Item. Tome.

Cost: 3. XP: 5.
Test Icons:

: Choose a card at your location and test (1). For each point you succeed by, choose one -

- The next time that card would be healed this round, heal +1 damage/horror (to a maximum of +3).

- The next time that card would be dealt damage this round, deal +1 damage (to a maximum of +3).

Pixoloid Studios
The Scarlet Keys Investigator Expansion #58.
No image
FAQs (taken from the official FAQ or FFG's responses to the official rules question form)
  • Q: Does Gray's Anatomy heal damage/horror? Or is it only considered to modify the amount of damage/horror healed by the original source of healing? In other words, can Vincent Lee and Carolyn Fern take it? A: The card itself does not heal damage/horror, it only modifies the amount of damage/horror healed by the original source. That said, Vincent and Carolyn can still take it, because we are ruling that still fulfills their deckbuilding options. [NB ArkhamDB deckbuilding has been adjusted to reflect this.]

  • Q: Does the "to a maximum of +3" on Gray's Anatomy mean that it is a maximum of +3 per target, or is across all uses of the ability. So can you use the ability on one enemy to have it take +3 damage, and then again on a different enemy to have it also take +3 damage. Or can you only use it on one enemy at a time? A: If you’re targeting enemies with Gray’s Anatomy, it imposes a maximum bonus of damage you can apply to that enemy “the next time [it] would be dealt damage this round.” It’s worded in such a way that while you could target the same enemy multiple times in a round with the ability, the most bonus damage you could deal to it with Gray’s would be +3 at a time. There is nothing preventing you from using Gray’s Anatomy on multiple enemies, you’d just have to perform the intellect test once per enemy, and keep track of how much bonus damage each enemy would take.

  • Q: Can you stack the effect of the action? I mean, doing the action twice choosing the same card could grant a +6? A: You can stack the effect, but only to a max of +3. The "max +3" applies across all instances of the ability (as well as across all copies of the card among all investigators). Once that damage or healing has been applied, you could theoretically use it again to get another +3 on a different healing/damage effect, but you couldn't use it twice in a row to get more than +3 to a single effect.

  • Q: On Gray's Anatomy, is the maximum on the number of times you can make a choice, or are you allowed to choose the same option more than 3 times? For example, if I test on an investigator and succeed by 6, am I allowed to choose healing 6 times (and boost the next heal by the maximum of 3), or do I have to choose healing 3 times and damage 3 times? A: You can choose the same option more than 3 times on Gray’s Anatomy, but the maximum bonus applied to the heal/damage dealt can only go up to +3 for that round.

Last updated
Reviews

Looks like we've got another -class boss killer! Here's a four-piece combo, which I offer as one way of abusing the power of this tome for virtually testless burst damage, keeping in mind the restrictions outlined in the FAQ above (i.e.: no excessive stacking to unleash a +12 attack or whatever). What you'll need in addition to this card:

  • The Raven Quill with "Living Quill" and "Spectral Binding" marked, the attached asset being Gray's Anatomy itself. The former upgrade saves you from AoO, while the latter ensures that you have your hands free while carrying the book around and using its . XP cost so far: 7 (5 for the book +2 for the Quill); both hand slots are still free at this point.

  • Occult Lexicon or Occult Lexicon (3). Obviously the upgraded version would be better, but with the difference amounting to 2 damage, you may just as well roll with the vanilla book if starved for experience (like on your way to Dunwich or Carcosa). XP cost in total: 10 (or still 7); hand slots required: 1.

----- Important side note: to unleash this combo, you need to hold at least one copy of Blood-Rite in your hand as well as two or three resources in the bank (two for the vanilla Lexicon, three for the upgrade)!!! -----

  • Ancient Stone (Knowledge of the Elders). As usual, you want to have as many secrets stacked here as possible, but seven seems a good number. Then again, since our damage output in this combo stems from three combined sources, there's no need to obsess over having more than seven secrets. In fact, in one go, you'll need only two or three, depending on whether you're using the vanilla or the upgraded Occult Lexicon. XP cost in total: 14 or 11 (depending on the lexicon); both hand slots are filled now.

So how do we pull this off after all this preparation?

  1. Move to the same location as the boss, then use Gray's Anatomy's , choosing the damage option, obviously. No worries, thanks to the raven's gift, you won't eat an AoO, meaning you may take this action right under the boss's nose! This is the test that you actually need to take --- and to pass to your satisfaction --- to make this combo work. That's why I wrote above that this is only VIRTUALLY testless damage. But testing your strongest stat against 1 shouldn't be this hard. Let's say you've aced the test, giving you the +3 damage we'll need in a second.

  2. You play Blood-Rite, which conveniently neither triggers an AoO nor requires a test. Depending on your version of the Occult Lexicon, you spend 2-3 resources to inflict the same number of damage. Added to this is the +3 from Gray's Anatomy, meaning you actually inflict 5-6 damage. :-)

  3. But wait, there's more! As part of the effect of Blood-Rite, you've just drawn cards, right? This triggers your Ancient Stone, meaning you spend some secrets to dish out another 2-3 damage (depending on how many cards you've drawn, which in turn depends on your version of the Occult Lexicon). This brings the damage count up to 7-9. And all of this reliably, i.e. without having to test against the presumably high stats of the boss. And this is even BEFORE the dedicated fighter(s) of your team has/have moved in to do their thing. If you're playing true solo, then the boss might already be dead now.

Although you need some 11-14 XP and several different cards to pull off this combo, I don't think it's too janky. All of the cards involved are strong also outside this particular setup, so by including them in your deck it's not like you'll get value solely out of this combo and never in other situations. And of course you try this combo only if you KNOW that there's a boss coming up. So I acknowledge this might be less manageable in blind playthroughs.

Finally, note that the damage you need to inflict to get the +3 bonus may come from any source. So, if you've moved to the boss's location via Shortcut, Pathfinder, Eon Chart, etc., or if Carson Sinclair has gifted you an additional action, or if you're Daisy Walker, you still have three actions to take at the start of this combo, which in itself requires two (or merely one, if Blood-Rite is played off of Farsight). After this combo, then, you have one left to use Gray's Anatomy once more as your final action. This is sure to benefit the fighters of your team. And again, since the boss is in all likelihood hard to hit, simply have your buddy use the of a Beat Cop or whatever to deal 4 "testless" damage! :-D

PS: Shoutout to the YT channel Rather Incoherent, which taught me the Ancient Stone-Blood-Rite combo à propos an overpowered Harvey Walters deck: www.youtube.com

EDIT: fixed the damage count under step 3. The correct totals are 7-9 damage (rather than 7-8).