Occult Lexicon

I've seen players comment on their experience with playing Occult Lexicon a few times during a scenario. Based on my understanding of the card, that's not possible.

Bonded cards have this ruling:
New Keyword: Bonded. If your deck contains a card which summons one or more bonded cards, those bonded cards should be set aside at the start of each game.

  • Before scenario, set aside 3x copies of Blood-Rite into a pile.
  • During scenario, play Occult Lexicon. You fetch the 3x copies of Blood-Rite from the set aside pile of bonded cards.
  • You play another hand asset over-top of Occult Lexicon. Lexicon goes to the discard, and all 3 copies of Blood-Rite are removed from the game.
  • Later in the scenario, you replay Occult Lexicon. The Blood-Rite cards have been removed from the game; they are not considered to be amongst your set-aside pile of bonded cards.
    Right?
VanyelAshke · 196
That appears to be the current consensus yes — Sycopath · 1
I agree. Nightmare bauble sets attached parasites asside when it leaves play so I guess they come again if you replay it (only those attached, not those in other areas) — Django · 5177
Seal of the Elder Sign

It's expensive XP-wise, but this can be used to address Marie Lambeau's weakness, Baron Samedi. Since a star allows you to add doom, you can speed up the Baron's exit by a full round. Pushing him out 1 turn sooner means you can get rid of him on agendas that would advance at 3 or 4, while otherwise you need at least a buffer of at least 6. Getting 3 doom on the Baron over 3 separate rounds is surprisingly hard.

It's pretty good with Marie even outside of that. combo it with Mystifying Song, place extra doom on something that you can benefit from. must obvious choice would be Renfield. you can leave 2 doom on him for a while, play Mystifying Song when it would advance. Add a third doom with SotES, trigger Renfield, adding a 4th doom, gain 4 resources, Calling in Favors (or an AoO, or whatever) to kill him off, still have rounds left. — Zinjanthropus · 231
Open Gate

In a 4-player Standard campaign, I always start my deck with 3 of these, and remove them somewhere before the halfway point of the campaign, and it works out well for me each time.

To start with the upside, if I draw 2 Open Gates, it routinely saves the group 3 actions a game, sometimes less, frequently more. In most campaigns' early missions, you're in the "explore" phase of the mystery, where you are wandering around town/campus/jungle flipping locations and collecting clues. Since you're low-xp characters, you don't have much of your jank, but the game accommodates you with easier shrouds and monsters, many of which are beatable with just base stats. It's usually effective for your group to split up, but there's always that Act that says "investigators at <Location X> spend clues as a group to advance/resign", where the party has to get to a specific spot. Open Gate lets at least one teammate teleport there, which may even let you advance the Act a whole turn sooner than you could have otherwise.

As for the fail cases, If I draw 1 Open Gate early but never get its partner, then I'm out a card and resource, which is a fair price for a failed gamble in this game. If I draw it late, I can pitch it to a treachery. It may be suboptimal, but it's never dead.

The card definitely gets worse as the campaign goes on, both because missions start to become "charge forward to your inevitable doom" with no backtracking, and also because your bottleneck changes from movement action economy to succeeding repeatedly at difficult tests, and Open Gate doesn't help with that.

Like Flashlight, I think this is an excellent level 0 card for your starting deck that you swap out later as they become obsolete.

"Get over here!"

I was wondering - does the "Fight" on this card (and similar Event-cards) triggers effects on Cards like "Frozen in Fear" (https://arkhamdb.com/card/01164) or the "Hunted by Byakats" from Barkham Horror?

They force you to spend something (an additional action / a ressource) to perform a "Fight" Action. Is the "action" you are performing with an Event card not a "Play a card from your hand" Action that just happens to have that "Fight" effect?

Tanks in advance!

Ratboy · 1
As long as it actually invokes the Fight, Move, or Evade action designator (in bold; as opposed to just happening to deal damage, cause you to move, or evade / exhaust and disengage enemies), and as long as it does actually cost an action (fast events and free triggers don't count as actions even if they invoke an action designator), Frozen in Fear will make Play or Activate actions cost an additional action. — Thatwasademo · 59
I think also in this particular case, unlike the example in the FAQ of using Duke to investigate a location with an additional cost, since the additional cost of Frozen in Fear is a cost to "perform one of the listed actions" rather than to "fight [any enemy, or some particular enemy]", you can't play the event at all unless you can pay the additional cost. The entire action of 'Get over here!' is all three of a play action, an engage action, and a fight action. — Thatwasademo · 59
(contrast, say, if there was some enemy with an additional cost to engage it that you couldn't pay, per that FAQ entry you could play 'Get over here!', move it to your location, and fight it without engaging it; or if an enemy had an additional cost to fight it which you couldn't pay, you could still use 'Get over here!' to move it to your location and engage it, but if you could pay the additional costs in either of those cases you'd be required to even if it was highly disadvantageous, like taking your last point of damage) — Thatwasademo · 59
@Thatwasademo, are you saying that playing this card spends three actions, rather than one? — komarinth · 1
@komarinth No, he's saying you'd need to pay any additional costs for each of those things because all three are happening at once. So if you had an enemy that said, "As an additional cost to fight the enemy discard cards with two agility icons" - you'd still have to do that. — Time4Tiddy · 251
Shocking Discovery

December 31, 2020
To provide clarity to anyone checking this page to ensure they're playing correctly, I will ask:
Is this the correct understanding on how the card works?

  • If you draw Shocking Discovery naturally (i.e. Upkeep phase, draw a card action, etc), then you shuffle the card back into your deck. That's it.

  • If Shocking Discovery is among the searched cards (i.e. Mr. "Rook", No Stone Unturned, etc), then you discard Shocking Discovery. You cancel the search, shuffle Mandy's deck, then draw the top card of the encounter deck. Shocking Discovery is now in your discard pile.

  • If you choose to use Mandy Thompson's ability to "resolve 1 additional target of the search" (ex: No Stone Unturned to search the top 6 cards of your deck and draw 2 of the searched cards instead of just 1 card), and Shocking Discovery is among the searched cards, the entire search is cancelled. This means that you do not draw a card at all because the entire search is cancelled. Then, you shuffle Mandy's deck and draw the top card of the encounter deck. Shocking Discovery is now in your discard pile.

VanyelAshke · 196
Yes. One edge case caveat tho: per the FAQ, a single card cannot be shuffled into an empty deck, so if Shocking Discovery was the last card in your deck when you draw it, the shuffle will fail, and let the text in parenthesis, you will discard Shocking Discovery and draw an encounter card. — Death by Chocolate · 1492