Haste

Question: How does Haste interact with on commonly found on weakness cards?

Examples:

1) Spend two actions to discard Hypochondria. Can I take a free on another card afterwards?

2a) What about taking a action first, then wanted to discard Hypochondria. Can I use 1 real + 1 haste action to discard it?

2b) I took two actions first, can I use 1 haste + 1 real action to discard it?

Aesyn · 616
An action triggered ability introduced with more than one arrow is a single action with an additional cost of spending some additional actions. This means that case 1 and 2a don't work - 1 because you've only taken a single Activate action, 2a because Haste is triggered after performing the action (it may trigger in case 2a though, if you have a third activate action to take). Case 2b works. — Thatwasademo · 58
Could you use haste after the two movements on the red clock? — IntoxIcatIon · 1
Disc of Itzamna

Interestingly, Roland actually prefers the downgrade to the original. This Disc softens up big enemies and still allows him to get the killshot for the clue, and it's an outright testless clue when used on small enemies. Other than Hallowed Mirror (maybe), I don't think there's another accessory I'd rather have for Roland at level 0.

ClownShoes · 161
Eye of the Djinn

When this card was first announced everyone was quick to say it was broken, but I think the truth is that it's trying to give you an almost guaranteed success.

Your base skill is 5, which is great. But what if you draw a bless token? You probably just wasted your Eye of the Djinn on a test you were going to succeed on anywa-- oh wait! You can ready the Eye of the Djinn and get the bonus again next test.

But what if you draw a curse and fail? Bad luck. Wasted the Eye of the Djinn again-- hold on! Get your action back! The curse still punishes you a little, but the Eye of the Djinn will do everything it can to make sure you will get some bonus and security.

Ah but what if you draw a curse and a bless? Then you pass *and* get another action with Djinn! — Difrakt · 1327
it does get a lot better if you can draw a bless and a curse, but I would agree that it's not even remotely broken — Zinjanthropus · 231
Old Book of Lore

This card is even better now that the Eldritch Sophist has been released.

Pack a Forbidden Tome and you can refill your Old Book of Lore each turn. In 5 turns, you can potentially get all the Secrets out of it to have it translated.

Now you can finally use other allies and the latest Taboo List without feeling like you've been robbed of all those resources on your turns with 3 successful investigations, and you do not only get a bargain, you also get a significant increase of tempo.

Use a Library Docent with Calling in Favors on your Forbidden Tome, replacing it with Encyclopedia (0) and you can potentially use the Old Book of Lore once a turn as you will often find cards that do not need to be played immediately such as Skill cards or Events that wouldn't apply to the situation.

Valentin1331 · 80835
Or Ariadne's twine! No ally slot taken. — MrGoldbee · 1496
"Get over here!"

So because of the ruling on deciphered reality this card is "engage an enemy, fight an enemy, engage a non elite enemy at a connecting location then fight them"

So did they ever re-rule that or is it still that case that without an "instead" clause all bold actions also make you perform that effect in addition to the text. seems like the intent is you are doing the bold actions with the following alterations.

Or is this card just meant to be fight two people at once and I've been under playing it all this time?

Zerogrim · 296
You’re definitely just fighting and engaging one enemy. — StyxTBeuford · 13052
There's no ambiguity here. This is a Fight and Engage action, modified by the fact that you can move a non-elite enemy to your location before performing the engage and fight. The "instead" ruling applies to the result of skill tests, not to action designators. — suika · 9508
Action designators don't have an "instead" applied to them, otherwise Decoy would require that you also perform an evade test and Seeking Answers would also give you a normal investigate. — suika · 9508
The general principle to follow here is that if a card tells you to do the action(s) its action designators indicate in some particular way, that's a modification of those actions not an additional effect, but if a card tells you to do something not strictly related to those actions, it is an additional effect. So, for instance, Deciphered Reality doesn't make you do another investigate check with its first sentence, but its second sentence doesn't replace the normal effects of the check it does make, either. — Thatwasademo · 58
Or, for this card, the "engage it" and "attack it" instructions set the timing and target of the Engage and Fight actions, rather than being additional effects, but moving the enemy is an additional effect. Which does raise a question... if there was a non-elite enemy that couldn't move, could you still engage it with "Get over here!" and thus effectively move it anyway? — Thatwasademo · 58
Also, Deciphered Reality does not have the "instead of discovering clues" clause, which means the "If you succeed" effect on Deciphered adds to the standard investigate action. Get Over Here does not have any of those additional effects on success, rather its Engage and Fight actions are merely modified to do something else. — toastsushi · 74
@thatwasademo to your last question no? It would definitely depend on the wording. If the card had some "cannot" text then that can't be countermanded by any effect whatsoever. However, it is written permissively such that the move can fail but the engage and attack effects can succeed. However, the card probably still works as written based on targeting effects. Since the fight action can only target enemies at your location (barring effects that say otherwise) if get over here cannot result in an enemy being moved, engaged, or fought then both the targeting would fail and the card wouldn't initate in the first place because it couldn't change the game state. — Sycopath · 1
Hmm, @Sycopath, I think it would still attack it because it has specified an enemy (even at a connecting location) and there are no conditional ‘then’s in the ability. While the move and engage effects would inherently fail if it cannot move, the attack can be resolved. — Death by Chocolate · 1490