Rogue
Asset. Accessory

Item. Relic.

Cost: 1.
Test Icons:

As an additional cost to put this card into play, you must search your bonded cards for 1 copy of Guardian of the Crystallizer and shuffle it into your deck.

After you play an event: Attach it facedown to Crystallizer of Dreams instead of discarding it (to a maximum of 5 attached events). Attached events may be committed to skill tests as if they were in your hand.

Ethan Patrick Harris
The Dream-Eaters #24.
Crystallizer of Dreams
Reviews

How does this card interacts with Wendy's Amulet?? It seems to me that if you have both Crystallizer of Dreams and Wendy's Amulet you can loop events to infinity like for example:

  1. Initiate investigation test -> (if you fail) play Live and Learn

  2. Live and Learn doesn't discard but attaches itself to Crystallizer of Dreams (so Wendy's Amulet forced effect doesn't trigger?)

  3. Commit the attached Live and Learn to the same test so it lands on top of discard pile

  4. If you fail repeat from step 1.

If this is true then you can do allot of naughty nonsense using this card with Wendy, not to mention Will to Survive, Eucatastrophe, Trial by Fire...etc.

Alogon · 264
The forced effect part of the amulet is based on "playing the event", so it should trigger and put it on the bottom of the deck with forced taking priority on the amulet from this card.. — Bronze · 99
Yes, you are right, in the reference book under "Forced abilities" it's stated "For any given timing point, all forced abilities initiated in reference to that timing point must resolve before any [reaction triggered]  abilities referencing the same timing point in the same manner may be initiated." — Alogon · 264
Similar question can be asked of The Painted World. In that case I (think) the replacement is a floating constant, so again has priority over the ‘when’ my text but it’s not 100% obvious — Difrakt · 625
Is there anything stopping the Crystalizer taking the card from the bottom of your deck? — Kael_Hate · 1
‘Instead’ is a replacement effect, and can only trigger if the card is doing the thing replaced (in this case being discarded). Wendy’s amulet already replaces discarding so there’s no discard event to replace with putting the event on Crystallizer — Difrakt · 625

I finally had a chance to try this card out yesterday on my blind run through the first Dream Eaters scenario. I'm playing Tony in a group that doesn't have a dedicated cluever so I'm running both Evidence! and Intel Report to help out on the clues side of things. This card really pulled its weight ! The ability to play an event that nets you clues while then attaching it to the Crystalliser and commit it again for 2 book pips on a subsequent test makes Tony into a pretty reliable clue-getter. Despite being the least clue-focused of our 3 player group I came out with more clues than anybody else while still breezing through the zoogs. Great card. Can recommend.

I do have a question about the interactions with a couple of cards though, which hopefully some of you more knowledgeable folk can clear up. Firstly, how would it interact with Ever Vigilant ? Could you play this as one of your assets after EV is played and then still attach EV to it afterwards or does the discarding of EV occur before the reaction effect comes into play ? Secondly, does the reaction effect only kick in immediately after you play the event ? For example, could you play Well-Maintained onto one of your guns and then a few turns later when it gets discarded attach WM or would that not be allowed ? Delay the Inevitable is another event that could be affected by this if it turns out to be a restriction. I'd assume that it would be fine, but the wording on the card is "after you play an event", which could be interpreted differently.

Sassenach · 53
Ever Vigilant attaches to the Crystallizer just fine but events that don't get discarded immediately don't - the Crystallizer replaces the standard discard that happens when playing an event, but those event's don't have that, so there's nothing to replace. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
@thenamewastaken I think he's suggesting a sequence of: play Ever Vigilant, play Crystallizer (with ever vigilant), attach ever vigilant to crystallizer, which would not work. If the crystallizer enters play after the timing point that it's looking for, it can't trigger, even if the event is still resolving. Play =/= resolve. — SGPrometheus · 168
@SGPrometheus What does "After you play an Event" mean? It should be the timing point after complete execution of the event, right? The discard of Ever vigilant happens AFTER all three assets are in play. This discard can be replaced by the crystallizer, as it is already in play. — trazoM · 1
@trazom I might be looking at this from too much of a Magic perspective, but the only timing point when a card is "played" — SGPrometheus · 168
Part 2: would be after costs and targets are determined and when the effect goes on the stack (not that AH has a stack, per se). The parts you're describing are the resolution of that effect, not the playing of the card. Again, this might not align perfectly with the actual rules, but it aligns with MtG's timing rules, which i consider a gold standard. — SGPrometheus · 168
From Appendix I, I understand that the trigger occurs in step 4. — trazoM · 1
trazoM has it right - an event is considered played after its effects resolve. — TheNameWasTaken · 3
Appendix I says clearly that a card is only considered to be discarded (in the discard pile) when its initieted effect is resolved. This means that "Ever Vigilant" will discard after the chosen assets are in play, triggering "Crystalizer of Dreams" in the process, as trazorM rightly points out. — Alogon · 264
Cool, that's handy. EV has double book pips so that's a pretty sweet combo. — Sassenach · 53
Wow, that's nuts. Good tech. — SGPrometheus · 168

This card is excellent. Rogues in general don't have a lot of competition for the accessory slot. Lucky Cigarette Case is nice, but a bit expensive before it really starts paying off and requires you to invest in either oversuccess or extra actions to trigger reliably. Still it's probably the easier card to run versus Crystallizer of Dreams, which requires paying very close attention to the pips on your event cards. You can do a quick search of Rogue Events here on the db and see that two icons show up fairly often on most cards: and . Staple cards like Elusive, "You handle this one!", Sleight of Hand, Think on Your Feet, and Slip Away all have this exact pairing. Easy Mark for 1 XP nets you great economy and deck cycling in 3 cards, all of which also have this pairing. Intel Report and Narrow Escape are also solid includes with double icons.

It's for this reason that I think the card is particularly standout for Finn Edwards, who can easily take advantage of both stats. "Skids" O'Toole is also pretty keen on it, and On the Lam is an ace target for the skull. If this does work with The Painted World (for now I assume it does) then it's obviously a strong pickup for Sefina Rousseau. All of these investigators can take advantage of the icons for events they already want to play.

Tony Morgan is also a great Crystallizer candidate, but he probably has to build around it the most carefully. He doesn't like first of all, so a lot of Rogue events are just worse for him in that way. However, he gets // access, and depending on how you build him you have a lot of great icons available to make him more flexible:

Tony of course also has an easier time getting extra actions and fighting at a really high value, so triggering Lucky Cigarette Case is really easy for him. You'll have to build him very carefully to make Crystallizer worth it over LCC.

I'd suggest very broadly that this card is easier ran on lower counts. On higher counts specialization is easier and LCC activates more frequently, especially for Tony who will have lots to fight. On lower counts the weakness here is less meaningful as you can feasibly ignore it (it takes a while for it to even do anything once it shows up).

StyxTBeuford · 548
I'm currently playing Tony with the crystallizer and a guardian event based deck, it works really. — Django · 2049
Sorry, didn't mean to send the comment already. Some things I've noticed: 1. Great combo in an event based deck with Double, Double (Evidence: Get 2 clues and commit it for a third); 2. When I've got events in hand i try to save them until i get the Crystallizer out. Lucky Cigarette case helps search for it. 3. guardian of the crystallizer: it might cause problems for non combat rogue decks like finn or waste shriveling charges for Sefina. — Django · 2049
I wouldn't generally call this card excellent. While it IS in deck with sufficient events, it's useless if don't have any. Rogue "Succeed by 2" decks built more around skills would be an example. — Django · 2049
Right, that's why I mentioned how it isn't as easy to build around as Cig Case. You have to build a deck specifically with this card in mind, but if you do it is powerful. Guardian could actually be a boon to Finn, as in solo it gives him an evade target if he wants it for Pickpocketing 2 (and because it has hunter it even has the potential of discarding his weakness instead of reshuffling it in). — StyxTBeuford · 548

EDIT: Well I inserted my foot into my mouth well and good, thinking The Painted World worked with this card. I'll keep the post as it was, but please ignore the part pertaining to Sefina Rousseau.

ORIGINAL POST.

Hmm, a rouge card that synergies with event cards; now who could stand to benefit the most from that?

In all seriousness, this is a bit like Backpack in that you either build a deck around it, or you notice you have a large number of events in your deck already and might as well add it.

Any rouge that takes it will likely also want to consider Narrow Escape, Swift Reflexes, and Decoy for their symbols.

As for which investigator to give it you, signature events cards are a good place to look. Sefina get a whopping THREE extra Guts or Manual Dexterities, thanks to The Painted World, before she's even starts choosing cards, so for her, it's an auto-include. "Skids" O'Toole might want a look, what with On the Lam having the most skill icons in the entire game (counts as 4), as well as a selection of guardian event providing and icons. If you still hold out hope of Lola Hayes, two Unexpected Courages from Improvisation will be really nice, and EVERY event is at your disposal.

I personally am going to try an event heavy Rex Murphy deck, with lots of icons to proc his special ability, including Search for the Truth.

Lucaxiom · 75
The Painted World won't attach to Crystallizer because it removes itself from the game instead of discarding, so Crystallizer can't replace the discard step with attachment (since the discard step has already been replaced). That said, she does still run a lot of events. I also really like the idea of running it with Rex Murphy. There are a lot of great seeker events with solid commit icons. — Death by Chocolate · 12
I'm still intrigued by the idea of running this in a Patrice deck once Versatile comes out. . Dunno if it would really work, but in theory it offers the chance to double her hand size. Could be worth a try at least. — Sassenach · 53
TPW interaction is ambiguous. RAW it doesn’t work because in RAW there is no timing window between ‘playing’ and ‘discarding’ an event, however RAW actually means Crystallizer (and relatedly, Wendy’s amulet) doesn’t work *at all* which means there’s an issue with written rules — Difrakt · 625
However, if changes to RAW create this timing window (this is anticipated) Crystallizer WILL work with TPW. Compare writing for TPW which creates a replacement effect, which Crystallizer can override, to Mystifying Song which never goes to the discard window because the remove from game is part of resolving the card. (Let’s pretend Marie would ever want to versatile this card) — Difrakt · 625
Even if that is an issue, and even should the suggestion you make be implemented, Crystallizer still wouldn’t work with TPW. “All aspects of an effect have timing priority over all "after..." triggering conditions that might arise as a consequence of that effect.” All of the effects of playing TPW (including the RFG substitution) have timing priority over the Crystallizer’s ‘after’ ability. By the time it resolves, the discard ‘timing window’ has already been replaced and there is nothin for the Crystallizer to replace anymore. — Death by Chocolate · 12
That’s for consequences of an effect, it doesn’t override priority for later conditions. — Difrakt · 625
Hard to give a relevant example here. If TPW was play an event and draw a card’ you couldn’t trigger Double Double until after you had already drew the card, but that has nothing to do with the creation of floating conditions (the situation we’re dealing with here) — Difrakt · 625
Right, but one of the consequences of ‘playing TFW’ is the floating replacement condition. See the FAQ on Wendy’s Amulet for the example involving Lure. Lure’s effect causes it to not be discarded at the end of resolving it. TFW does the same. The same principle applies if Wendy plays TFW (using “You Owe Me One”). YOMO would got to the bottom of her deck (after TFW was fully resolved), but TFW would not go to the bottom of Sefina’s deck. It would still RFG. (In contrast if Wendy played any other average event, that event would end up at the bottom of its owners deck, and then they’d draw cards and then YOMO gets bottom’d.) — Death by Chocolate · 12
You’re confusing applicable rules, Wendy can’t send *any* card that she doesn’t own into her deck because it’s not her out of play area, but that has nothing to do with timing priority. The rule you’re talking about has to do with trying to nest a triggering condition in between effects listed into a card, it has nothing to do with effects created once the card has resolved which is the situation we’re dealing with here. Since TPW has fully resolved its text before it hits the ‘after playing’ window there is no timing priority, and we’re back to standard conflict of timing windows, which Crystallizer of Dreams can override. — Difrakt · 625
Lure is even simpler and has nothing to do with timing priority: Wendy doesn’t bury lure into its deck because it never hits the replacement effect. If lure was ‘instead of discarding, attach’ then Wendy’s amulet would override the lure text as usual. — Difrakt · 625
Okay, first of all I never said Wendy could put *any* card into her deck. The forced effect would trigger, but since she doesn’t own the card, it would go to its owners version of that out of play zone. But that’s not the point here. In a standard conflict of timing windows ‘after’ effects resolve last. Both TPW’s actual text and the hypothetical Lure text you propose create a floating effect that has already replaced the future event of discarding with a different game effect. When Crystallizer resolves, there is no conflict because Crystallizer can’t replace an effect that has already been replaced. TPW’s replacement clause isn’t ‘waiting around’ to trigger, it has already changed the future steps of its play resolution during the resolution of its game text. — Death by Chocolate · 12
No that’s not how AHLCG works, the game is designed around a static set of timing windows and triggers that react to those timing windows. Lure doesn’t work with Wendy’s amulet because attachment prevents discard from ever occurring (read section on ‘attach to’). Wendy’s amulets forced conditions only fails because the FORCED effect only interacts at a specific point (after you play) and has a replacement condition (instead of discard) since the FORCED window expires without ever having a discard to replace that’s why amulet fails to affect lure, but again none of this applies to Crystallizer. — Difrakt · 625
You need to review the ‘instead’/replacement effect section. They don’t change future conditions intrinsically, they create a floating trigger. In this way there isn’t a distinction between TPW and Crystallizer — Difrakt · 625
Jesus Christ Guys. What happened while I was away?! — Lucaxiom · 75
Thank you for directing me to the ‘instead’ entry. So, TPW would need to specify ‘would’ to ensure itself. Without that, the Crystallizer is the most recent replacement and thus takes precedent. — Death by Chocolate · 12